We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very helpful host”
Review of Seaview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #10 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good location and very helpful host”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Catherine was extremely helpful even before we arrived, making restaurant bookings at her suggestion during the busy Art Deco festival.
This is a great location - just a few steps down to the Marine Parade and a short walk to the main streets. Delightful breakfasts served on sunny balcony with sea views. Large, comfortable guest lounge with TV and an information book and complimentary tea and coffee.
Next time we are in Napier we will be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libraryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and it is wonderful that you would stay at Seaview Lodge again. I am happy to book restaurants, etc all part of the service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Catherine is not only a charming person, but also extremely gracious and helpful.
From the old but well renovated house you have a wonderful view. The room was very nice and spacious.
We enjoyed the lovely continental breakfast with warm croissants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you Eva for your kind words and your lovely flowers! it was great to meet you both and I am so pleased you enjoyed staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Sea view lodge is at the end of a narrow road on Bluff Hill and when you get there you are looking out over Hawkes Bay albeit with a new hotel just beneath you. However this does not spoil the ambience of sitting out on the balcony looking at the sea whilst being in the middle of the famous Napier Art Deco town. Catherine was very attentive and informative and we thoroughly enjoyed her continental breakfasts. Our en suite room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed the character of the very old building perched on the hillside. We were ableto walk to many good and one outstanding restaurant and had the best fish and chips in New Zealand at Emporium.
Chris and Liz A - West Sussex UK

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Hi Chris and Liz, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my recommendations re restaurants helpful. It is always g pod to know where the great fish and chips are! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZer in Auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I can highly recommend this wonderful place. Catherine and Evert were so welcoming and not only provided transport to and from the airport but to the Planetarium too which was 4 km from the town centre. Breakfasts on the balcony were delicious and even included heavenly croissants! Very close to Marine Parade; a quick walk down about 80 steps and you're there. Bedroom spacious, clean and had view of the sea. The bathroom was not ensuite. Lovely to hear the soothing lapping of the sea at night. I was there during the Art Deco Festival so there was some noise coming in in the evenings but no too loud. The festival itself is magnificient!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieNZerinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This charming, victorian home is a wonderful retreat by the sea. Nice view; the beach and main area of Napier are within easy walking distance. Catherine is a gracious host who understands the perfect balance between being available, when needed, and also respecting your privacy. We had the ensuite bedroom, plus the entire 2nd floor to ourselves (since we were the only guests for the evening). Unfortunately, the weather was not as coorperative (chilly/rainy); but, after enjoying dinner out, we were cozy and warm in our seaside digs. Catherine also turned our car around in the tight drive area and it was ready to roll the next morning. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

When Catherine, one of the hosts, greets you at the door, you feel like you have arrived at your best friends house. Her energy and charisma fill the house and you feel at ease immediately.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and we had the advantage of having the entire place to ourselves.
The walk to town is easy and convenient and Catherine seems to know everybody in town and can hook you up.
Slept beautifully to the sound of the ocean which is right at the base of the cliff.
Breakfast was simple but lovely and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Life-is-a-Banquet-JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was our second visit to Napier which we enjoyed just as much as the first. Previously we had stayed a bit further out of the town but really liked the fact that this B&B is so close to the centre. Catherine is a very charming host with lots of helpful information. We had the only bedroom with en-suite, which I would recommend although it doesn't have the sea view.

There is so much to do in Napier. We particularly liked going to Te Mata Peak where we did some walking and then drove near the top and walked the last bit. The views are incredible. There are some beautiful drives in this area and a visit to Hastings is a must.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJT06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dome
The Dome
#5 of 34 in Napier
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 47 in Napier
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: 5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing