We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“warm and wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seaview Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Lodge
Ranked #9 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“warm and wonderful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast! Catherine is an incredibly friendly and genuine host!
I had never stayed in a B &B but I will definitely be staying at Seaview Lodge again!
Catherine went out of her way to make my arrival easy and wonderful! She has thought of everything to make her guests feel pampered in her lodge. The woodfire keeps the main floor very toasty warm. The room is elegant and the heavy duvet and bedding (and electric blanket) make it absolutely heavenly!!! The bedrooms are very clean and tranquil. the large room with view out towards pines and ocean would be my first choice and I would request it specifically next time. I was in a smaller room facing the city but it was very nice too. You just feel so pampered and cocooned at the SeeView Lodge. Breakfast was delicious! Catherine is truly the best!!! My sincere thanks to her for starting off my visit to Napier in such a welcoming and wonderful way! Location is fabulous- so close to the ocean spa, marine parade, downtown shopping-and for me close to NGHS! A beautiful walk up the hill!! I loved it!! Thank you for being so kind Catherine!

Room Tip: I would specifically request the large room with window facing the pines/ocean. (as seen on website)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieLovestoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thanks Laurie for your wonderful review! It was truly a pleasure to meet you and introduce you to the charms of Napier and our B and B by the sea but so close to town! I look forward to your return with the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
44
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Wow what a fabulous place and host. Catherine was such a wonderful host. The views from the house are incredible, even with the new hotel below it. IT was just a short walk down to the Marine Parade. Catherine was an extremely gracious host, her suggestions on the Art Deco walk, shops and restaurants was perfect. Her suggestion for the sports shop was great, I found a really cool bike jersey there. We especially enjoyed her suggestion for the wine tour. Vince's "World of Wine", he was such a great host. (more about him and he tour on another review) Catherine's breakfast was just enough to fill you up, especially the croissants. As with the other B&B's we stayed at along our NZ journey we were the only ones there, we had the entire house to ourselves! Catherine started the fire prior to our arrival and allowed me to tend it to our liking, spectacular. We fell in love with this city, I could see us living there one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
It was great to meet you both and thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so pleased you found a great cycling jersey! Some guests like for me to tend the fire others like to do it themselves-very happy either way!. Hope you do indeed get back to Hawkes Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Catherine was extremely helpful even before we arrived, making restaurant bookings at her suggestion during the busy Art Deco festival.
This is a great location - just a few steps down to the Marine Parade and a short walk to the main streets. Delightful breakfasts served on sunny balcony with sea views. Large, comfortable guest lounge with TV and an information book and complimentary tea and coffee.
Next time we are in Napier we will be staying here!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libraryfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and it is wonderful that you would stay at Seaview Lodge again. I am happy to book restaurants, etc all part of the service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Catherine is not only a charming person, but also extremely gracious and helpful.
From the old but well renovated house you have a wonderful view. The room was very nice and spacious.
We enjoyed the lovely continental breakfast with warm croissants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you Eva for your kind words and your lovely flowers! it was great to meet you both and I am so pleased you enjoyed staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Sea view lodge is at the end of a narrow road on Bluff Hill and when you get there you are looking out over Hawkes Bay albeit with a new hotel just beneath you. However this does not spoil the ambience of sitting out on the balcony looking at the sea whilst being in the middle of the famous Napier Art Deco town. Catherine was very attentive and informative and we thoroughly enjoyed her continental breakfasts. Our en suite room was clean and spacious and we enjoyed the character of the very old building perched on the hillside. We were ableto walk to many good and one outstanding restaurant and had the best fish and chips in New Zealand at Emporium.
Chris and Liz A - West Sussex UK

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine v, Owner at Seaview Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Hi Chris and Liz, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my recommendations re restaurants helpful. It is always g pod to know where the great fish and chips are! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZer in Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I can highly recommend this wonderful place. Catherine and Evert were so welcoming and not only provided transport to and from the airport but to the Planetarium too which was 4 km from the town centre. Breakfasts on the balcony were delicious and even included heavenly croissants! Very close to Marine Parade; a quick walk down about 80 steps and you're there. Bedroom spacious, clean and had view of the sea. The bathroom was not ensuite. Lovely to hear the soothing lapping of the sea at night. I was there during the Art Deco Festival so there was some noise coming in in the evenings but no too loud. The festival itself is magnificient!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeanieNZerinAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This charming, victorian home is a wonderful retreat by the sea. Nice view; the beach and main area of Napier are within easy walking distance. Catherine is a gracious host who understands the perfect balance between being available, when needed, and also respecting your privacy. We had the ensuite bedroom, plus the entire 2nd floor to ourselves (since we were the only guests for the evening). Unfortunately, the weather was not as coorperative (chilly/rainy); but, after enjoying dinner out, we were cozy and warm in our seaside digs. Catherine also turned our car around in the tight drive area and it was ready to roll the next morning. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for the ensuite room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.1 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Lodge

Property: Seaview Lodge
Address: 5 Seaview Terrace | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing