We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant venue for workshop”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I ran a two day workshop in this venue. All the people who attended the workshop found it added a great deal to their experience. It made them feel enriched and cherished to be in a place that was so beautiful, with such a beautiful view and ambience, and that was also practical and in the heart of the city. I will be using it for all my Napier workshops.

Lani Morris.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed in Studio 2, lovely warm greeting, thanks Karla. The Dome is in a great location across from the beach and close to the main shopping mall. We had some great eateries nearby. This was pure luxury, very clean and well appointed. The only problem we experienced was the aircon not working so opened windows open at night and like others did experience quite a bit of noise, however, we were told the aircon is being fixed mid January. Gorgeous outdoor area with plunge pool and warm spa was beautiful, also have a BBQ in this area. The laundry was well equipped for our use also. Once we went through those front glass sliding doors we felt like we were home! Thanks Dome and Karla for a wonderful stay and we have already recommended our home-away-from-home to others on our travels throughout the North Island.

Room Tip: Studio 2 was great, next door to pool area and laundry. Limited sea views but beautifully appointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolzWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If I could give it 4.5 stars I would. This property of a very high standard and in a great location accross the road from the beach and in the centre of town. A few small negatives were the amount of noise from drunk patrons leaving the pubs (on a weekend), problems with the aircon and the fact there is no onsite staff (the property is small - 4 or 5 apartments - so you need to organise a time to pick up keys). All in all good, but a few minor issues which were dissappointing given the price. They also levy a charge of 3.5-4.5% on credit cards which we were not told about.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ailne, Owner at The Dome, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Hi Vaughan,  Firstly thank you for your positive review, yes it was a very warm week that week. Temperatures that we have not seen in over 10 years ! We have however decided to move the air conditioners, just in case we get a similar wave in the future so your feedback has been very useful.
As you know we are not a hotel and give you the freedom or spacious studios and apartments with big wide-open shared areas including the urban deck with the yummy plunge pool and spa, I do hope you got a chance to cool down in the magna pool?
RE: Between the 5 apartments we can sleep 20 all together or simply as you know, accommodate two in one of the designer studios. When we renovated this glorious 1937 masterpiece, we decided to choose space and comfort over trying to get as many rooms into the building, I feel we have done quite well and the feedback seems to reflect this?
 
I see that you booked through a channel manager, namely Venere. Unfortunately we do not have any control over their booking terms and conditions. Had you booked directly through us from our website or e-mailing or calling us you would have been able to chose from either a direct credit bank transfer or PayPal which avoids all credit card fees, again we cannot control the fee’s that these credit companies decide to charge.  When any guest books directly with us they receive an e-mail clearly outlining all of the payment methods, ( options with our any third party fee's )  which leaves you as the guest totally in control.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again.  
Many Thanks
 
Ailne Bradley 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Good location, very clean and really high standard. Everything was great!! It was much better than expected and we really expected premium. I would rather call this luxury. If we come back I will for sure choose The Dome again and can really recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connyglindholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

If you want to wake up to the tranquil sounds of waves crashing or just need a spot of retail therapy, the Domes location is ideal. With the Cape View Apartment you pay a premium, however you receive a luxury apartment.
With two small children the plung pool was ideal and the extra space in the apartment perfect.

Although there is no on-site parking it was not a problem with a short walking to ample parking.

Star spotting? check the guest book and you will see JOHN KEY'S signature!

Well done on a great apartment will stay again

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuestCastleHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Our experience was faultless from the moment we arrived. Jess was very friendly and explained all the necessary details for our stay. The quality and fresh appearance of the furnishings was a real WOW factor! Absolutely loved our stay and were regretting just being there for the one night...definitely worth a two night or more stay to enjoy!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue6773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Dome with friends in the other studio. We were able to relax and enjoy each others company with access to the breakfast and outdoor eating area and spa pool.
Staff were very attentive.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £156 - £467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing