We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location for a function”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Dome
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb location for a function”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose The Dome for its proximity and style. A lovely venue for our event. The option to provide our own catering was perfect. Great service was provided and we were well looked after. First class amenities and everything is thought of. We would recommend this venue and hope to come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    20
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
53
Solo
0
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Dome would have to be THE BEST place to stay in Napier. We stayed in the Cape View Penthouse which was just superb. Fortunately it is away from some of the construction noise that is happening at street level.Everything has been thought of ( except tissues and matches). The heated floors in the bathrooms were truly appreciated, the air con works well, all the appliances are first class. Cape View faces onto Marine Parade which is an easy access road down to Cape Kidnappers and Elephant Hill Winery and the lovely Telegraph Hill Olivery. Karla gave us a great suggestion for dinner at Pacifica. Information centre is across the road. Booking process was easy and great communication. We'll be back at The Dome

Room Tip: Ask if the roadworks has finished along Marine Parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had the pleasure of staying in one of the penthouse suites at the Dome for two amazing nights. Capeview Penthouse offers extensive views to Cape Kidnappers and the surrounding buildings of Napier City. The suite has all the luxuries and allows you to have an intimate, relaxing stay. Being in the middle of treatment for cancer it was the perfect retreat for my husband and I. We loved the close proximity to restaurants and attractions Napier has to offer. Karla was a lovely lady who met all of our needs to ensure we had the best possible weekend away. Thank you for a dream weekend which more than lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoratioHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay in this beautiful property which effortlessly fuses history with modern, luxurious facilities. Karla was exceptional to deal with in the booking process, and is a kind and generous host. We were blown away by being upgraded to the penthouse apartment with its amazing views and plush interior. Super comfy beds, gorgeous complimentary bathroom products and snuggly robes made for a very relaxed weekend. The hot tub on the roof is superb! It was also a real plus being in the heart of Napier with shops and restaurants on your doorstep. The Dome is a special place and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisaChaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wynnum, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Staying at The Dome was amazing. It has all the class of a 5 star venue with all the benefits of an apartment. The staff were friendly and accommodating and made me feel so welcome. It is located ideally close to town by right on the esplanade. Napier is a beautiful town and combined with staying at The Dome, I perfect place to stay for my business trip, but I certainly would come back for a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Superb property, perfect for hosting or individual stays as was ours. First class accommodation in a great location, central to most things but isolated enough for privacy. We had the penthouse, fantastic views and a very definite luxury decor. Beds may be the best we have had in any of our many travels, just like home.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were with a group and had the top 2 floors which are amazing. Our suite had two bedrooms - what a gorgeous place, the kitchen is amazing, with a huge deck, two lounges and a lovely dining room in the turret. Truly unique.
Being near Marine Parade means it has beautiful views of the ocean but also a bit of traffic noise if you're a light sleeper.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper a room near the pool area at the back may be better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
882 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Property: The Dome
Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing