We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the bay”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The Dome was exceptional place to stay. For a large group it is the only way to go. There's plenty of space and it would be ideal for staff away day. The staff were excellent and went out of their way to help, the accommodation exquisite and the location perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed at the Dome over 6 months ago now but I just have to write a review because it was such a pleasant stay! We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with the plunge pool and it was so luxurious! It has a lovely view too and is so conveniently located (right above Starbucks!). The manager there, Karla, is super helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OpieOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The Cape View Penthouse at The Dome, Napier is situated along Marine Parade across from the Information Centre right in the centre of town. When you walk into the apartment…..all you can see is the sea and the sky from the large glass doors opening to the spacious deck complete with table and chairs and a 'loveliness of ladybirds'. Inside there is a main room with living room, dining room with a table for eight people and a fully equipped kitchen and a welcoming bottle of Hawkes Bay red. The couches are very comfy leather and the cushions sport Dick Frizzell designs. Down a few steps to the bedrooms and bathrooms….one master with ensuite and one guest with king bed or king singles depending on your need. The bathrooms have heated tile floors which my daughter insisted on keeping on despite the sun pouring into the bedroom from 5:45 a.m. each day. There is also a laundry with washer and dryer and drying stand. We relaxed and enjoyed Napier from our very luxurious and centrally located spot at The Dome Apartments. Would love to go back again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were sad to only ahve one night in this lovely place. The room was spacious, and we were provided with a wonderful bottle of Hawke's Bay red on arrival. We had a pull out bed for our 10-year old, which was large and very comfortable. The lcoation is great - parking was a bit of a challenge, but it wasn't the end of the world. The room was clean and tidy and airy (nice having actual windows!).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We are a group of 5 sisters who try to celebrate family occaisions throughout the year (although any excuse for a weekend away will do!). One of our group trurned 60 years young this year (not me!) and we thought a special 2 day weekend was in order - so off to Napier and The Dome we went. What a lovely place to stay and such friendly helpful management - thank you girls! Putting on such superb clear, blue-sky weather for us was going the extra mile!! We had a wonderful weekend and lots of laughs along the way..........such fun

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose The Dome for its proximity and style. A lovely venue for our event. The option to provide our own catering was perfect. Great service was provided and we were well looked after. First class amenities and everything is thought of. We would recommend this venue and hope to come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The Dome would have to be THE BEST place to stay in Napier. We stayed in the Cape View Penthouse which was just superb. Fortunately it is away from some of the construction noise that is happening at street level.Everything has been thought of ( except tissues and matches). The heated floors in the bathrooms were truly appreciated, the air con works well, all the appliances are first class. Cape View faces onto Marine Parade which is an easy access road down to Cape Kidnappers and Elephant Hill Winery and the lovely Telegraph Hill Olivery. Karla gave us a great suggestion for dinner at Pacifica. Information centre is across the road. Booking process was easy and great communication. We'll be back at The Dome

Room Tip: Ask if the roadworks has finished along Marine Parade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaChris09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 47 in Napier
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £164 - £484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing