We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated magic in central city”
Review of The Dome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Dome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

A wonderfull special birthday night spent at the Dome in central Napier, modern room in an old building. Only a studio but it was a very large room with a great AV system and loved the speakers in the bathroom, sitting in the deep bath relaxing to music. While located downtown double glazing made for a quiet nights sleep on a wonderfull bed. Would certainly go back and reconmend, only slightdownside was the small wardrobe, but apart from that all good.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2011

We stayed at The Dome during the Art Deco Weekend. I could not imagine a better family accommodation and a better place from which to enjoy Napier. Our two bedrooms apartment was large, great bathrooms, big family room with kitchen. They gave us a masive breakfast hamper which fed us for two days! The plunge pool was just out one side of the apartment and the large deck with views of the ocean and coastline out the other side. We could walk to the town centre for entertainement and meals and Karla the conscierge was so helpful. Tops marks to The Dome!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Always0naplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

"King of Accommodation" was the award we won at our work prize giving after our colleagues (a lot of us) had spent the night in the dome dining room enjoying diner, playing poker and watching the league on the BIG screen. Great night!

Very friendly owners who had no issues with any thing we asked for.

The rooms were large and the beds were super comfy.

I only gave 4 stars for sleep quality as the place is right in the middle of town and there are early morning trucks emptying glass etc.... But being right in town is great for shopping & eating great food so it was still worth it.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellimacr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

After having travelled across the world from Europe with my partner and 3 year old son it was wonderful to walk into the luxury world of the Dome and be greeted by the completely hospitable Ailne and Yvonne who made us feel immediately at home in our apartment. You can’t really beat the Dome for location. It is a perfect base to explore the Hawke’s Bay area and visit the beautiful wineries and beaches beyond and it is situated at the end of Napier’s main high street, so a short walk to the shops and restaurants, overlooking the promenade and the clam theatre with a horizon of crystal blue ocean as a back drop. Stunning to the 360th degree! The Dome has been meticulously renovated to the highest standard with no expenses spared incorporating luxuries including a jacuzzi on the terrace, stereo in the bathrooms, fabulous music playlists, drop down screen and most importantly the biggest and most comfortable beds….. the list is endless.
The highlight of our stay had to be the Art Deco Festival when Napier comes alive and comes into its own glory. This 1930’s town is the perfect setting for celebrating this wonderful era and the Dome is at the centre of it all. We could at anytime pop down dressed in our 1920’s finery, hired from a shop down the road, and join the other 20’s revellers who had descended from all the world, alternatively we could just stay put in our luxury pad and from the Dome terrace watch the wonderful spectacle unfold before our eyes including jazz bands, car parades, Charleston dancing on the clam theatre park and the air-show over the sea.
The Dome also hosted a ‘Starlight Supper’ whereupon we met lots of interesting NZ people including the NZ PM John Keys who looked very dapper in his pinstriped jacket and boater and together with some interesting NZ people we met there we drank some delicious NZ sparkling wine and danced the night away a la Charleston!
It was a memory of a life time. Totally fabulous! The owners of the property obviously take pride in their work and Ailne and Yvonne give 100% to make sure you have a memorable time. We have wonderful memories of our trip to NZ and do so hope we may return!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOL003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed there for two nights and it was very nice on arrival we had fresh flowers and a bottle of bubbles waiting for us.

The whole Penthouse is amazing, decorated modern, view out to the Beach/Ocean.

We are coming back next time we will be there !

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevhfmnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

My husband and I took our staff from our hill country station for our annual station trip to Napier. A range of ages between 19 to 45yrs. From the outset of booking great service was evident with the office staff going out of their way to accommodate a suitable date for us. Payment details were clear with regular e-mails informing when payment to be made. We were greated on arrival by a shining Irish hostess who orientated us to venue. The decor, linen, art works, etc were of the highest standard giving you a total feeling of luxury and decadence. We had a fabulous weekend and felt thoroughly pampered. Absolute Bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Fantastic location, right in the city but also 100% unobstructed sea views. Very spacious and very modern accomodation. Great in Winter would imagine even better in Summer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumof3nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dome

Address: 101 Marine Parade | Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £152 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dome 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dome apartments provide the highest level of contemporary modern living and pure luxury. Complete with: spacious living areas, generously apportioned bedrooms and fully equipped kitchen and dining facilities. Many of the bedrooms include, balconies and panoramic sea and cityscape views. This is complemented by luxury decor, with furnishing from designers like Philippe Stark, and artwork by renown local artists like Martin Popperwell, Dick Frizzle, Fane Flaw and Richard Brimmer. The Dome offers an exclusive and privacy which has made it a popular retreat favored by local and international artists & celebrities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing