We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a short break”
Review of Ballina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballina Motel
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Ballina Motel very much. It was clean and comfortable, we were even upgraded to a one bedroom studio at no extra cost. The whole unit was imaculate and contained everything we needed. We liked the fact that the motel is eco-friendly and uses natural products. We were given a free pass to Church Road Wine Tour which was also enjoyable. This motel is between Napier and Hastings so you have the choice of venturing out in either direction.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Very clean and comfortable with everything that one needed for a short stay. Spa bath was excellent for relaxing after a day's outing.
Management very helpful. Choice of breakfast including full cooked, served in room.
Very convenient for visiting Napier and Hastings. Make sure you visit Te Mata Peak a shirt drive from the motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hearach282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Management and staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We had an upstairs room with balcony and it was spotlessly clean. Very comfortable couch, free wifi and full sky. Very comfortable bed and crisp white linen. We had a very good cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Excellent service, great rooms, breakfast was delicious with good vegetarian option. 10 to 15 mins drive to downtown napier. Manager was great and recommended a 30 min drive to hill top where you can see the landscape of Napier valley.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, ask for cheese platter and wine tour option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadmaSriniketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stay here last week for 4 days. It was so handy to the Prettigrew sport stadium . It was clean and lovey warm blankets on the bed ok the shower was over the spa bath my elderly sister had a problem getting in and out.But my daughter loved the spa bath . The staff both week days and weekend staff were just brilliant pleasant and friendly.But next time will ask for a down stairs unit both myself and my sister has trouble climbing the stairs.when we booked in the lady who took us to the unit said if we told them we had problems with stairs they would've put us down .

Room Tip: If you have a problem with stairs tell them when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Wow just had an example of poor customer service which cost us $220 !! For nothing! Well done Ballina motel in Taradale for showing us how not to get repeat business. They advertise on Wotif mystery deals (Napier) as "centrally located" - but they aren't central at all - out in the suburbs at Taradale about 15 minutes drive from Napier - not really central to anything! If you read the fine print on the Wotif advert you get a bit more information but we missed that as we were working off a mobile phone (you have to click more to see it). Anyway, we wanted to stay in the centre of Napier! Booked the deal about an hour before arriving at the motel which we quickly realised on the drive there was not where we wanted to be. Their response - tough, your mistake, you booked it, there are no refunds - wasn't even prepared to meet us halfway (we booked for two nights). Not a wotif problem - they say Ballina write the text for the advert and have discretion to refund but they choose not to and treated us quite rudely. We left. Now staying centrally in Napier at a much friendlier place - the Anchorage. Simple but definitely central. If anyone is considering booking the Ballina motel in Taradale I recommend you reconsider !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Esther_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S, General Manager at Ballina Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

The wording of Wotif’s mystery deal (which was written by Wotif) and appears on both a mobile device and the internet very clearly says (without having to seek more information) that the “Mystery Property is a Motel conveniently located half way between Napier and Hastings” - there is no mention in the advertisement that the motel is centrally located in Napier.

The Wotif advertisement also says …. “If you need to make sure you stay in a specific location, or want to be close to a particular place, we’d advise you stick with our regular accommodation deals” … and that … “with prices this low, Wot Hotel bookings cannot be changed or cancelled, so please take care to check your dates and all other details before you click the “Pay Now” button”.

Whilst we welcomed these people, they chose not to stay at the Ballina Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting family and wish we had taken the offer of staying with them instead, not as good as it claims to be.

The welcoming from the reception lady was average, she seemed to be gong through a routine or having a bad day. The room itself was average but it smelt musty as if someone had been smoking in there, the shower temperature also fluctuated and caused water to flood out into the kitchenette area which we cleaned up after each shower.

We ordered continental breakfasts for both days which were also very run of the mill standard, we think if you're going to advertise yourself as being above average, at least live up to it, especially for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HnG98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.9 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
114 reviews
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
5 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Deco City Motor Lodge
Deco City Motor Lodge
#15 of 46 in Napier
227 reviews
4.7 mi away
Westshore Beach Inn
Westshore Beach Inn
#26 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
2.4 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#20 of 46 in Napier
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballina Motel

Address: 393 Gloucester Street, Napier, New Zealand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Ballina Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: £74 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ballina Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Hawke's Bay's newest luxury air-conditioned motels - the place where those in the know choose to spend their time while staying in Napier. What makes the Ballina Motel special is our small size allows us to focus on those important little details and provide personal service to ensure that your stay is both a relaxing and memorable experience. All our spacious rooms are air-conditioned (to provide some relief from Hawke's Bay's high summer temperatures and warmth in winter), and furnished to a high standard of quality which is reflected in our 4 Stars rating. Our quiet residential location (there are no crashing waves, barking seals, trucks or trains thundering through the night to keep you awake) ensures that you arise fully refreshed to take on the new day's challenges and fully enjoy the great Hawke's Bay lifestyle and glorious weather. Centrally located in Taradale midway between Napier and Hastings city centers - ensures that you are close to all of Hawke's Bay's diverse range of activities and attractions. Within easy walking distance of the cafe's restaurants, bars, and the main shopping center of Taradale. If you are looking for more than a standard motel, but not the excessive expense of a hotel then you are in the right place. Our accommodation makes the ideal base for visitors to Hawke's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ballina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing