We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot, great studio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Beach Front Motel Napier
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good spot, great studio”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

This motel has rooms with ocean view and ones that face the street on the other side, Hastings Street. We stayed in a 2 person studio facing Hastings Street and liked it so much that we decided to lengthen our stay. Napier is a lovely art deco town with nice restaurants, good shopping opportunities, ocean next door, gannet colony close by and nice tramping opportunities close by. The studio was very clean, spacious, included a spa bath (for 2 persons), kitchenette, fridge and newspaper every morning. We'd recommend a room upstairs, as that includes a balcony and has a bit more privacy. Walk to town is about 3 minutes, supermarket about 5. Highly recommended, especially when considering value for money.

Room Tip: When you don't mind walking one minute for your ocean view, the studios facing Hastings St are v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ton_alting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    145
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
69
222
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This motel was located in a good spot, across the road from the beach and a large, fenced off children's play area. Easy walk in to town.

Room was spotless. Note that the separate master bedroom had blinds separating it from the lounge area (not solid walls) so really it is just one big room. Quite unusual but fine.

Start at the Art Deco shop in town and you'll get some great ideas about what to do in the area. Staff were most helpful. Great to watch the video of the Napier Earthquake. Cost $5.00.

Note well, it is NOT a swimming beach! Sudden drop off, dangerous currents etc. Disappointing if you are a Piscean!

There is a fabulous bike path. We hired some from down near the Ocean Spa baths. $50.00 for the day. We rode south to Haumoana for Fish and Chips! About 35km return but an easy ride.

Can recommend the Craggy Range winery. The view from here was spectacular. You can also drive up to the top of this hill and look back down.

EATING: had a fabulous meal at an Indian Restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in a ocean view room. The room was a great size, larger than most other motels we have stayed in. The bed was large and comfortable. Great cooking facilities, decent curtains, no road noise which was surprising,

The room was very clean.
The only negative comment about our stay is that it would have been nice to have airconditioning in the room as we had the fan going all night which was a bit noisy.

Overall would recommend staying at a reasonable price, great location and very clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leshproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Just a one nighter in the rain ( I know it does not rain in Napier) so mised what would have been a nice strole back from a night in town, however found the motel very comfortable and clean. Little road or beach noise which was suprising and great to have a hearty breakfast in the morning sun on the balcony

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Really happy with the motel, faultlessly clean, helpful staff, fabulous ocean view, very comfortable room with everything we needed for a 3 day break away. Walking distance to centre and nice places to eat, and a great ocean walkway just out the front.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bacnzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

This place has a sunny summer holiday feel, with a very comfortable bed, big shower and nice big spa right in the room, along with robes. The view of the beach is nice too - just the sort of room to make you feel like you're on holiday. Lovely.
The downsides though - the staff were a little cold, though not actually rude; the rooms on the top floor require luggage tugging up a big (but circular) staircase, and the spa stuff provided is not ideal for more sensitive skin.
Still worth it though, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: If you get a higher room, you'll need to use the stairs - no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pancreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piha, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Arriving to the room late at night, it was a welcome relief. It is like a liitle home away from home. You could imagine that it is what apartment living is like. It makes a huge difference from just the straight out room with a bed.

The cleanliness is second to none, the white titles in the bathroom were sparkling. My only regret is that I didn't get the time to enjoy the spa bath which is ajacent to the bedroom.

Also the bed does move around a bit so somehing to watch out for :-)

One to return to.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piharian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
0.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Front Motel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Front Motel Napier

Property: Beach Front Motel Napier
Address: 373 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#12 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Front Motel Napier 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or pleasure beside the sea, we offer 46 spacious studio and family size units. All units have a spa pool or spa bath, and a kitchen. Some with balcony and sea views. Some with air con. Walk to city centre and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Front Motel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Front Motel Napier Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing