We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Helm Crag Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Thanks so much for making Mission weekend so wonderful. Your accommodation is outstanding and the breakfasts fantastic. We appreciated your efforts dropping us off and picking us up from Mission. I unreservedly recommend your B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2011

Fantastic. Thank you very much for everything and for making Mission weekend so wonderful your efforts dropping us off and picking us up from Mission were especially appreciated . Amazing breakfasts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aucklanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Helm Crag whilst touring New Zealand's North Island, and enjoyed the quiet location in a charming neighbourhood, high above the centre of Napier. It is situated on quite a steep hill - not easy to walk down to or back up from the town centre, but near the Botanic Gardens and only short car or taxi ride to the restaurants and other attractions of Napier.
Murray and Jacquie were charming hosts, and very knowledgeable about local attractions, restaurants and Hawkes Bay vineyards.
We arrived to a welcoming glass of NZ wine, and a chance to talk to Jacquie about our sightseeing plans.
We chose to stay in the Queen Room, which was comfortable and had the advantage of being like a small suite, with separate bathroom and toilet, so private but giving us a little more space.
Breakfast was very good, and again gave us an opportunity to talk to Murray and Jacquie about our proposed activities.
Helm Crag was good value for money and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, friendly and comfortable accomodation in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Helm Crag back in December 2009. We were warmly greeted, treated to a glass of wine, and then offered a ride to our dinner destination, all within 30 minutes of arrival. The rooms were comfortable and well thought out, with everything we needed. It was great to also have use of the spa pool. In the morning we were treated to what was no less than the best breakfast spread either of us have ever had the privilege of experiencing, and on the deck overlooking the city. Excellent hosts too! Thoroughly recommended, and we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasbuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Our reservation was made through I-Site in the town of Napier, rebuilt in the art deco style after the earthquake of 1931. Murray and Jacquie Sutherland were our hosts and greeted us after taking a walking tour of Napier and we were tired. Ellie is somewhat impaired because of severe back problems and difficulty climbing stairs, so you can imagine our surprise and delight to find that she had a lift at her disposal to get to the upper floor! We settled down to a glass of wine and fine conversation before heading off for dinner. But before going I brought my camera out to take pictures right from their front room and balcony of the beautiful views of the bay and surrounding hills. We also deposited our luggage in the first floor bedroom with a fine king size bed and large well-appointed ensuite bathroom with all the amenities at our disposal. We spent 24 days in New Zealand touring both islands and staying in B&B's the whole time and Ellie and I agree that this was the finest bathroom of all.
Upon our return from dinner that night Jacquie asked if we would like to have dinner the next night with them. They would provide the wine and food and company. Of course, we replied we would love to. Ellie had not tried venison as it's hard to get in the USA and her request was immediately granted. We provided a couple of bottles of wine from Te Mata and they also provided a couple of bottles of wine. Fortunately we didn't finish them all so we could fully appreciate the sumptuous meal provided by Murray, truly a gourmet chef (Jacquie helped of course). Breakfast the next morning was just as nice.
Since their house is in the center of town, but up on a hill, it helped to have a GPS to find it, but it was still easy to get to. Parking was in their driveway with more than adequate room to turn around. We had separate access to the bedroom from the outside and had our own key, so we could come and go as we pleased.
All in all, this was one of the best B&B's we stayed at in New Zealand and can highly recommend it. Five star rating!
(Haven't downloaded my photos yet, but can provide them to anyone soon).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
813 reviews
1.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
975 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#9 of 46 in Napier
579 reviews
1.6 mi away
Westshore Beach Inn
Westshore Beach Inn
#25 of 46 in Napier
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helm Crag Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helm Crag Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Kavanagh Road | Hospital Hill, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Price Range: £90 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fabulous 360° views - from Cape Kidnappers in the South to the northern Kaweka Ranges. King or queen room both with private facilities. Situated just up the road from the Botanical Gardens, the property is a 20 minute downhill walk to either the Napier CBD or the restaurants and bars of Ahuriri, although you may want to take a cab back up the hill - or give us a ring and we'll pick you up! Let us help you make the most of your stay! On your arrival, relax with a cold glass of Hawke's Bay wine, or a cup of tea, and we can help you with your plans, booking restaurants or activities. We also offer our own bespoke winery tours and a 'dine with you hosts' experience. After your busy day, you can relax in the spa pool or put your feet up in our guest lounge with a cold drink before heading out for dinner. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing