We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendlt and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #31 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Chester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendlt and Welcoming”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This lodge is quite a walk from town, and if you're travelling with Naked bus and have booked your accommodation with Naked sleep, don't expect the bus to drop you off there, they will still take you into town. However, it is a really nice place, the people who own it are very friendly and helpful. It was clean and warm. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    5
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
8
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We parked our campervan here (powered site in the carpark- access to showers, laundry, kitchen, lounge). We found it great, and significantly less expensive than other options in Napier. As others have mentioned, the owners are really lovely, and made us feel at home, answering all our questions about things to see and places to go. Location is great. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Ahuriri is a little way out of Napier Central but there is a hopper bus ($3) that runs until 5.30 and it is a nice walk - either on the flat along the seafront or over the hill passing nice houses and seeing views of the city. As another reviewer said, there are plenty of bars and eateries in the area. There is also the lovely art deco 'National Tobacco Company' building just along the road.

The couple who run Portside are super-friendly. My bed (I was in a dorm with four bunks which I shared with one other girl) was very comfortable and had clean sheets and pillowcase on it. I didn't need the sleeping bag I took with me 'just in case' as the supplied duvet, which seemed thin, was very warm and cosy.

There is a large communal lounge with magazines, games and television and a well equipped, clean kitchen. The outside area gets good sun. They also rent bicycles by the day.

Cafe Nosh, very close by, does a great breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trecasali, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

very friendly, quiet and confortable, good position in the city

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Allec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortsideinnNapier, Owner at Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Hostel is a little bit out of town but don't let that worry you, there are plenty of places to eat and have a few drinks in the area, there's no need to be in the town centre. Its a nice walk to town during the day to see the town itself. Apparently, everywhere in the town centre closes earlier in the evenings than in Ahuriri. The couple who run the hostel are extremely nice and helpful. Room was clean and fresh and there's a simple complimentary breakfast to be had, if you're up in time. We didnt require the use of the kitchen but it seemed to have everything you might need for self-catering back-packing. Lovely areas to sit outside and have a bbq. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortsideinnNapier, Owner at Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2011
Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#19 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bluewater Hotel
Bluewater Hotel
#37 of 47 in Napier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Archies Bunker Backpackers
1.4 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge

Property: Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge
Address: 52 Bridge Street | Ahuriri, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers lodge and powered campervan sites located in the historic fishing village of Ahuriri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing