We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #29 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Reviewed 2 December 2012

brilliant facilities, lovely owner, relaxed atmosphere, fun, clean, cheap and the only hostel/backpackers around with space! 2min walk from the bars and clubs but still quiet, would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

The Lodge has a big living room with comfortable couches, and a kitchen where you can use herbs, which is really good especially if you are travelling. The hosts are friendly and help you. There is also much space to sit in the garden and a BBQ. The rooms are nice and clean. It was nice to stay there, I'll stay there again if I have time :) thank you:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sch0k0mate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great location with plenty of choices nearby for a good meal and drinks etc. A few minutes walk from the waterfront and Marina and an easy walk into Napier (we took the bus back though). We did not stay in any of the rooms, instead in our campervan on a powered site for a very good price. The amenities were available to use and the kitchen well equipped, but the bathrooms / toilets could do with a good clean! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Napier is a beautiful town and a great place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This lodge is quite a walk from town, and if you're travelling with Naked bus and have booked your accommodation with Naked sleep, don't expect the bus to drop you off there, they will still take you into town. However, it is a really nice place, the people who own it are very friendly and helpful. It was clean and warm. I would stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danidawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We parked our campervan here (powered site in the carpark- access to showers, laundry, kitchen, lounge). We found it great, and significantly less expensive than other options in Napier. As others have mentioned, the owners are really lovely, and made us feel at home, answering all our questions about things to see and places to go. Location is great. Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Ahuriri is a little way out of Napier Central but there is a hopper bus ($3) that runs until 5.30 and it is a nice walk - either on the flat along the seafront or over the hill passing nice houses and seeing views of the city. As another reviewer said, there are plenty of bars and eateries in the area. There is also the lovely art deco 'National Tobacco Company' building just along the road.

The couple who run Portside are super-friendly. My bed (I was in a dorm with four bunks which I shared with one other girl) was very comfortable and had clean sheets and pillowcase on it. I didn't need the sleeping bag I took with me 'just in case' as the supplied duvet, which seemed thin, was very warm and cosy.

There is a large communal lounge with magazines, games and television and a well equipped, clean kitchen. The outside area gets good sun. They also rent bicycles by the day.

Cafe Nosh, very close by, does a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

very friendly, quiet and confortable, good position in the city

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Allec87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortsideinnNapier, Owner at Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.6 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
682 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 47 in Napier
556 reviews
1.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
1.5 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portside Inn Backpackers Lodge

Address: 52 Bridge Street | Ahuriri, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £7 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers lodge and powered campervan sites located in the historic fishing village of Ahuriri. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing