We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fern Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
92
37
18
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
37
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming pooldeluxe family roomlovely poolreasonable ratesrecently stayed herelabour weekendcleaning staffroom was cleanheat pumpbbq areagreat bedair conhandy locationfull kitchena great place to staynapier citycomfortable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed one night in a "deluxe studio". Room is probably good for one or two persons with only one bed, but in the twin configuration we needed was quite cramped with difficulty finding somewhere to put suitcases so we didn't trip over them. Kitchen space was good, and room was clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. Shower and toilet both very cramped (except vertically, the shape of the building made them great for giraffes), be careful when using the hand basin not to bang your head on the small shelf above. The motel was obviously built before the nearby road became so busy, and while the building of a high wall along the road, and the addition of a virtual extra wall on the rooms cuts out the noise adequately, the idea of being able to sit outside or leave a window open is laughable.
If you book at this motel, make sure you either print off, or have the location firmly set in your mind because Westminster Ave is a very odd shape and if you start at the wrong end, it's easy to lose track of.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMTas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for posting a review. We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable sleep. We are sorry that you were a bit disappointed with your stay at our motel and felt a bit cramped in the Studio but for $35 more you can get a Family Unit with plenty of space for your suitcases and walk around your beds. I understand that you would definately recommend us to tall people and giraffes so that is a good thing! I agree that Westminster Ave is very confusing if you start at the wrong end but I can assure you that if you stay on the SH50 and follow that until the second roundabout from the North and the first roundabout from the South we are right there so very easy to find and perfectly located to explore all Hawkes Bay has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Last minute late booking. Was not a problem. Unit was one of the best I've stayed in. Recently refurbished. All the mod cons. Service was above and beyond!! Definitely recommend! Will most certainly stay again and recommend to friends and family

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blenmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for your positive review, we are very happy you liked it so much. We would love to welcome you or your friends and family again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay here not 5 star but has just been refurbished ie painted inside clean and tidy,nice friendly hosts only five minute drive to town and we could have out wee dog with us in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review. We like to give people who travel with their pets the opportunity to stay at our motel. It was nice to have you stay at our accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

For the last three years I have travelled to Hawke's Bay in many occasions. Since I discovered Fern Motel, it became my home away from home. Communication with Finy and Bernard has always been very easy and clear. After spending the day working/studying it's great to get to a place that I am comfortable and can relax. It is also great value for money compared to other places. Wish you guys all the best!

Room Tip: I have always stayed in room number 9.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alessandra_ufv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwaantsje, Owner at Fern Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Hi Alessandra,
Thank you for your warm wonderful words. We are happy you feel at home in our motel. We enjoy you staying with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next year. All the best.
Kind regards,
Bernard & Finy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

When we stayed at the motel, we were arriving from taupo, so this was on our way and easy to find. We saw the swimming pool, unfortunately it was too cold to go for a swim, but even the pool looked clean! So, good for when you're there in the summertime. The room that we stayed in was very neat and tidy. The beds were very comfy and shower and kitchen up to date.
We understand why Fern motel is a 4 star motel :) Keep up the good work owners!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hetty v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews