We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to today's standards.”
Review of Bay Beauty Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Beauty Motel
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were in town on charity business and need somewhere cheap, this was, the staff friendly and help full. The room was dated and worn out, the towels, though plenty full were worn and grey with age. Some effort had been made to make the bed look attractive, but I would have rather had ironed sheets than the fancy bolster pillows! The duvet had no cover and the pillows no protectors. There was no lounge furniture, just three single beds in the living room with the tv, the sound on the tv kept coming and going! We had booked a double room, if we had had the family with us we would have been OK! the little fenced area with garden table at the rear of the room would be usefull with families with very small children. The free internet was appreciated. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Bay Beauty Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

The room is spacious with en-suite, a kitchenette, a king size double and two singles. While the building is a little dated, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and motel is situated reasonably close to the town centre. There was freeinternet, a continental breakfast included and even a spa bath available, although we didn't use it. We felt at ease and comfortable at this well-priced motel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kju56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

My friends and I recently booked the entire motel as we were in town for a wedding, and I can't praise the Bay Beauty enough. Its a great location - quiet and relaxing but still central enough to get to shops etc if needs be. Plenty of mod cons to make your stay easier - and even two trampolines! I had a really great stay, and would recommend this place to anyone, especially families with young kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyHeartbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Friendly hosts Ian and Diane, comfortable accommodation, free internet if needed

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Nasimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We recently spent one night at the Bay Beauty while traveling between Wellington and Whangamata with two small dogs. We often travel with the dogs and make use of the various pet friendly accommodations now available. Bay Beauty is the best we have stayed as yet in terms of suitability for pets. Our room had a full fenced, grassed out door area which meant we were able to leave the door open and they could come in and out as they pleased and even chat to the other pet guests through the fence. Couldn't fault the staff, lovely and friendly. Overall the room was nice if a little older but very clean and really large. Would definitely stay here again when in the Napier area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gurlrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed a couple of nights. It was nice to have a kitchenette and little private courtyard.
2 minor criticisms though: the sofa in our room had traces of dog fur on it, and when we returned to the room one afternoon the bathroom contained an overwhelming odor as if someone had recently vomited in there - no doubt something to do with the plumbing (there seemed to be a sewer access in our courtyard) and not a reflection on the housekeeping. After thorough ventilation, the odor passed and did not return.

I know in how hard it is to get pet fur out of upholstery, but I'd suggest furnishing pet friendly accommodation with vinyl or leather or at least using slip covers that can be washed.

Short walk to shops nearby, but definitely a drive to the main drag.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonFromSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My wife and I went down to Napier during Easter. Although we made a pretty late booking we were pleasantly surprised by the deal offered to us. It saved us 2 meals in our stay of 2 nights. The rooms were sufficiently large with extra outdoor space, great kitchen space and bathrooms. In short the deal was great value for money.
Our best experience however was with the very homely, warm and helpful hosts. We knew we made the right choice as soon as we were shown into our rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaonbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
1.8 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#25 of 47 in Napier
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm City Motor Inn
Palm City Motor Inn
#10 of 47 in Napier
201 reviews
1.9 mi away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#11 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 47 in Napier
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ace High Motor Inn
Ace High Motor Inn
#35 of 47 in Napier
40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gardner Court Motel
Gardner Court Motel
#26 of 47 in Napier
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Beauty Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Beauty Motel

Address: 1 Storkey Street | Marewa, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Beauty Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bay Beauty Motel is close to everything (2k from city) and very peaceful. Wake up to bird songs, not traffic noises! We are situated in the central "Art Deco" suburb of Marewa, near Napier's lovely rose gardens and Marewa shops. Our smoke-free units are comfortable and spacious, with full kitchens, en-suite bathrooms and private courtyards. All studios have splittable super-king beds, as well as single bed/s. We also have roomy family units. Parking is directly outside your ground-floor unit. Enjoy our warm spa, shady children's playground and barbecue area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Beauty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing