We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I despise paying for a shower!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Went to this campisite as it looks smashing in the campsite book, but actually, whilst yes it is clean, the beach is only steps away, and the kitchen is well equipped, though far too small, my biggest gripe by far is that you pay for a shower, I wasn't told that until after I had parted with my money either, had I known I doubt I would have stayed.
We have been traveling since Dec last year, and we have been to Kuala Lumpur and Australia and not once have we had to pay on top of the pitch charge to shower! The one other thing of note is that you really don't want to stay here if you are a light sleeper, it's directly under the flight path for Napier Airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fovant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapperPark, Manager at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi There,
I fully agree with you regarding the payment of the shower. You had bad luck with the weather but Hawkes Bay weather is most days sunny and dry. As we have to conserve water we need to limit the shower duration. The cost of your stay does take into account that you use a paid shower.
You would love to stay here in peak season. We have free bbq, a craft club for the kids, an amazing beach and nice sunny and shaded sites.
We are 4km from the airport. Napier airport is a small local airport with not lot traffic and no night flights. When you were here the army had training for a couple of days. This was the first time the army trained here as far as I know. This was just coincidence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Nearly (5) five months ago we booked this holiday park for three (3) persons with (2) two bedrooms. What happened, they did only have such a chalet for (1) one night, for which we had to pay an extra 10$NZ, for their mistake! The second night we had to cramp together in a small "chalet" probably designed for a young family with youngsters, but certainly not for adults!

Room Tip: Book and see what you will get before you pay a deposit.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapperPark, Owner at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear Rene,
Thanks for your review. I hoped you liked the Art Deco festival in Napier.
When you made your booking in August last year, you booked for a Tourist Flat / En-suite Cabin. We confirmed this booking by E-mail as well. We try to tell our customers what they can expect. Please see below the text in the mail you received from us. It was mentioned that you booked our 1-room unit for a very attractive price per night. When you checked-in, we tried to help you and we did provide an upgrade to our 2 room self-contained unit. As we were fully booked for the weekend we could unfortunately only help you for the first night. I think we did our best to accommodate you in the best way we could. We only asked you $10 for the upgrade (you received quite a discount) and had you stand-by if we had a cancellation. From our point of view we try to help everyone as much as possible, but mistakes are not always ours!

On the booking confirmation you received: “Tourist Flat / En-Suite Cabin - 1 room, Queen bed with linen, has a single above it and a 2 high bunk bed. (Extra linen for singles is a one off charge of $5 per bed). Has en suite toilet and shower. Has a microwave, electric fry pan, jug, toaster and Freeview TV. These are standalone units. No Sea views - Check out our other units if you want Pure Beachfront. IAC Internet available”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The units are simply constructed, compact, and practical. Carpeted, with comfortable bunk beds. ( 3 single and 1 double), shower, toilet and wash basin. A table and chairs, microwave,TV (although the reception wasn't flash). I was amazed that the unit didn't feel at all cramped . Outside was a deck with chairs and an umbrella.
There is a Cafe on site, open from 8.30 am to 4.30 pm. This location is right by the sea,quiet, but very handy to Napier.
We found it an ideal spot from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnapperPark, Manager at Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Brenda,
Thanks for your review. We are happy you had a good time. Next visit you will notice we have a new TV in the unit. The specialist had a look and apparently the internal TV antenna connection was faulty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This beautiful spot keeps getting better and better. Craft club for the kids at 4, new shade sails, new planting...and it still has the charm and calm of our previous visits. Super friendly staff, bikes for hire, cycle trails on the back doorstep...Great place to explore - we used it as a base for the East Cape, and left the big tent safely for two days without any worries. Cafe is wonderful to meet and greet folk. Love the beach for fossicking and exploring. Can't wait to come back - we love being in the tent - can't beat canvas magic! Super clean and well equiped kitchen

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67arda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a great time at the Bay View Snapper Holiday Park. The cabins were comfortable and clean and the people were very friendly and helpful. The food at the Snapper Cafe was particularly good. We were right on the beach that had some beautiful views.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank radoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Excellent night away fishing, a few steps to the beach, great view from our flat. Loved that we did not have to lug fishing gear and a few beers far from the flat, also being able to light a fire was awesome.

Thank you

Karl and Rose

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowzie_posie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a lovely time glamping at Bay View. We hired their little tin hut which came equipped with Fridge, very basic kitchen and dining utensils, microwave, jug kettle and TV. Water was available nearby. Everything was clean and well presented. Site also had hardstanding and grass pitches. If we'd had better weather I think we would have hired the bikes and cycled into Napier. Great for families.

Room Tip: Book early for one of the better cabins.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
5.3 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
5.7 mi away
Fern Motel
Fern Motel
#19 of 47 in Napier
152 reviews
5.2 mi away
Edgewater Motor Lodge
Edgewater Motor Lodge
#16 of 47 in Napier
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#25 of 47 in Napier
134 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
674 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quest Napier
Quest Napier
#4 of 34 in Napier
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels

Address: 10 Gill Road, Napier 4104, New Zealand (Formerly Bay View Snapper Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range: £31 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, quiet, spacious and well maintained holiday park set on 9 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds on Bay View's beachfront. We are situated just 8km north of Napier i-SITE centre. We offer self-contained units with spectacular views, tourist flats, tent and powered sites. We have a fabulous new on-site cafe offering casual dining inside or outside in a lovely natural setting. Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park is great any time of year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Napier Beach Kiwi Holiday Park and Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing