We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverbend Family Lodge
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easy and comfortable”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. Arrived late to find the owner on the way to the unit to close the curtains and turn on the heat, this is such a welcome sign when the temperature range was 2-14 celsius (35 - 57 fahrenheit). Kendall (owner) was a comfortable and welcoming host. Laundry facilities were very welcome after a week of travelling and 2 more to go; outside line was useful for heavy items and inside drying rack (on request) was great for more personal items. Location was good, 5 mins from town of Napier and 10 mins to the Silky Oak Chocolate Factory. We were in the most forward cottage and could hear a little road traffic but nothing that disturbed us and we slept soundly however if you are a light sleeper and staying in summer therefore wanting to open the windows you may find this a little difficult. The accommodation is NOT on or near a major road but neither is it on a cul-de-sac.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
When you are travelling for an extended time it is nice to have the comforts of home close at hand.
Temperature here in winter is a little different from your home so was happy to oblige to make you as comfortable as possible. I hope the rest of your trip all went to plan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have stayed at Riverbend Family Lodge a number of times. Each time we have been impressed with the cleanliness and convenience these two bedroom cottages provide. The spacious combined kitchen/dining/lounge area gives plenty of room to move. The kitchen has good storage with a full-sized fridge/freezer and stove. The beds are very comfortable and there is good wardrobe space. Having the toilet separate from the bathroom is an added bonus, as is having a washing machine in each unit. The hosts, Kendall and Greg, are a pleasure to deal with. Riverbend Family Lodge is the ideal place to stay in Napier, it is a "home away from home".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibbyMelabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are glad that you once again enjoyed your stay.
We know space is important when on holiday and as you said the cottages offer plenty of that.
You don't have to worry about tripping over bags of living out of the suitcase.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We recently enjoyed a stay at Riverbend Family Lodge. The cottages were perfect for our family of four, with plenty of space to spread out. As a family we enjoyed the outdoor surroundings especially the heated pool. We really appreciated the friendly and helpful hosts. We would and have recommended River Family Lodge to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirstin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Glad you had a enjoyable time. Families do love the relaxed feel of the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for three nights with our two young boys and it was great. Friendly owners, good location, nice units, pool was fantastic. Having the laundry and clothes line was great and very reasonable rates. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thanks for your comments the pool is always a hit and as its heated it is always a great day to swim .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed with our 2 children for 3 nights. Great value for money. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Units were a good size and well equipped. The kids had great fun in the pool and bouncing on the tramp. We will definitely stay again when we are next in Napier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2Gerrishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks for your feedback.
Yes the pool is always a hit with our guests.
Would be great to have you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had such a wonderful time. We were greeted by the friendly Hostess Kendall. Greg was an awesome Host as well, he even gave me a substantial discount for staying there for 10 days!. I was also thrilled to be able to have my Champagne Brekky there and my Family were allowed to use the Swimming Pool. What a superb time. Absolutely loved the Chalet. Clean and central and close to all amenities. Will definitely be back to stay.
Josie Allan & Paea Tai

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Greg and I as pleased that you had such a good time during your stay.
We do enjoy seeing families relaxing and enjoying their stay we are only to happy to assist.
We can arrange bike tours and wine tours so maybe something for next time.
Best regards
Kendall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Fantastic hosts who are helpful, friendly and very accommodating - they are the reason I would not hesitate to stay here again in future. Well located and great practical accommodation at a good price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendall H, Owner at Riverbend Family Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your comments we do our best to make everyone stay comfortable whether for business or holiday. We look forward to seeing you again when you and the team are in Napier .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
2.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.8 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
860 reviews
1.8 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
547 reviews
2.3 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Family Lodge

Property: Riverbend Family Lodge
Address: 94 Bledisloe Road, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three two bedroom self contained cottages sleeps four queen bed and two singles in second bedroom. Full kitchen and own laundries. Set on the city fringe of Napier country feel close to town.Room for the kids to play. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing