We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of Omarunui Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Omarunui Homestay
Ranked #30 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Kate and Roger, great hospitality, very comfortable room, lovely garden and excellent breakfast. Even catered for my gluten free needs!

Suggestion for improvement - TV - we are creatures of habit and enjoy to watch breakfast TV with our cup of tea in bed in the mornings! Not a big deal though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLadson, Owner at Omarunui Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Thanks for your very kind review - it was a pleasure to have you and I hope we see you again sometime. We have considered putting a TV in the room so many times but just can't work out the best place to put it. We'll certainly seriously consider it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

A wonderful welcome from Kate and Roger to their beautifull garden and home. The room has it's own private entrance as well access to the living part of the house. Our spacious room had very pleasing decor and the lovely clean bathroom was highlighted with beautiful French decals of poppies. Our friendly hosts joined us for a beautiful breakfast which we enjoyed el fresco by the pool with the morning sun over our shoulders. Roger and Kate know their district well and offered may suggestions for our visit. If you choose Omaranui Homestay you will have made a grand choice.

Room Tip: Private entrance gives you the flexibility of coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Lovely property. Our room had French doors opening on to the garden. Very comfortable room and good bathroom and shower. Roger and Kate kindly offered us a welcoming glass of wine and were very helpful with advice about our onward journey. Nice quiet location. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLadson, Owner at Omarunui Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for your kind review - we enjoyed your brief company. Unfortunately, as you had such a brief, one night stay, we can't really understand where we failed on 'service'. We'll have to try harder next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was our second B&B in New Zealand, outperforming the first, which we had found to be very good. The room was spacious and very well appointed, leading onto a quiet area outside. The bathroom had every modern convenience, evidently only recently fitted out. Our hosts, Kate and Roger, couldn't have made us more welcome, sharing their house for drinks, chats and delicious breakfasts. They have a beautiful garden, which they were happy to spend time showing us around. They also recommended places to visit. All in all a very good choice of accommodation.

Room Tip: There is only one room let out here, as described above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Kate and Roger's welcome and hospitality was outstanding and second to none. Their home is in a wonderful setting and the room superb. Although we only stayed for two nights we regret that it could not have been longer. Their advice on local attractions lead to some really great experiences that we might otherwise have missed and we enjoyed their company in their home and at a local restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

When LeisureTheme NZ Personalised tour planning clients wish to stay B & B in the central Hawke's Bay we book them with confidence at Kate's Omarunui Homestay. Our clients are usually over 55 years and very well travelled people who supply us with extensive feedback on all aspects of their N Z holiday. They recognise good value when they experience it and they appreciate meeting local people and getting to know Kiwi's. David Jones

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank DWJMelbourne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Kate & Roger are great hosts. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home & at ease. The glasses of wine on the sun deck, & the evening when they took us to the Italian restaurant were great fun, & they made us feel special.
The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed, & in the mornings when we woke up, there was their cat, "The Butler", waiting to greet us outside the door!
We were very relaxed there, & it was the sort of place you didn't want to leave, set in lovely surroundings.
We would recommend Kate & Roger to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlossomPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
6.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
704 reviews
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
980 reviews
7.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
7 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
6.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omarunui Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omarunui Homestay

Address: 69 Omarunui Road | Waiohiki, Napier 4183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing