We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agapanthus alley with style”
Review of Omarunui Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Omarunui Homestay
Ranked #21 of 41 Napier B&B and Inns
Scot in Wales
Level Contributor
165 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Agapanthus alley with style”
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Roger and Kate have a very warm welcome for guests staying with them at their home. They know the true meaning of homestay.
The room is furnished to a high standard and has very comfortable furniture and bed. They provide tasty continental breakfasts with added extras. They offer their home as if you were part of their family and the garden surrounding the property is delightful. The driveway in particular, was abounding with flowering Agapanthus when we stayed with the.
Nothing is too much trouble and if you want to avail yourself of the extensive bike paths in this area, they will give you free use of their bikes.
They have very good local knowledge and can advise on where and what to see and do.
We would happily stay with them again if we get back to the Napier area.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobCScotinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed only two nights on our way to Wellington. Kate and Roger are the perfect hosts: kind, helpful, of great and witty company, welcoming their guests heartly.
Their house is wonderful with an awesome garden and a small heated pool (for the guests to use it, too). The guests' room is big and clean with a huge king size bed, the bathroom has a heating lamp to warm you up.
The second morning we had breakfast on their terrace (the first morming in their living room as it was raining): fresh fruits (some of them from their garden), yoghurt, toasts with home made jams, cereals... (we don't eat cooked breakfast). And their company.
Also they have two bikes which we used to make a nice tour.
They gave us a lot of recommendations on what to see and where to go on our way southwards.
Our stay with them has been great!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marzia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We really loved our stay at Omarunui homestay. The room was spacious and cosy, it contained a very good bed and the breakfast was delicious. But what really made the stay so good was the hospitality of Kate and Roger. The are extremely friendly, they recommended good places for dining and they even let us use their bikes. We truly recommend this place for staying in the area and Napier and North Havelock are worth visiting. Kate and Roger are a true asset for New Zealands's hospitality!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei-Muara District, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Greatest 'homestay/B&B' ever!
Should not be missed on a Napier visit! Lovely hosts - caring abouy their guests in the very best way! You will feel immediately the welcoming atmosphere at this place!

Gorgeous and cosy room (own beautiful bathroom & entrance). Amazing garden, best breakfast of New Zealand :) with homemade marmalade and fresh fruits from their own garden.

If you plan to stay one or two nights - better plan to stay longer because also Napier is a great place to discover...

Kate & Roger thank you so much for this unforgettable stay at your beautiful home!

Elmar & Kerstin



Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank schlumpf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLadson, Owner at Omarunui Homestay, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you Kerstin and Elmar for your very kind comments. It was really a pleasure to have you and it would be lovely if you returned one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

A wonderful welcome from both Kate and Roger. Very comfortable, clean and private accommodation, all this very tastefully decorated, could not ask for better. Breakfast together with the host was very good and friendly. Shame we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axbridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay with Kate and Roger, great hospitality, very comfortable room, lovely garden and excellent breakfast. Even catered for my gluten free needs!

Suggestion for improvement - TV - we are creatures of habit and enjoy to watch breakfast TV with our cup of tea in bed in the mornings! Not a big deal though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanAxbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateLadson, Owner at Omarunui Homestay, responded to this review, 24 March 2013
Thanks for your very kind review - it was a pleasure to have you and I hope we see you again sometime. We have considered putting a TV in the room so many times but just can't work out the best place to put it. We'll certainly seriously consider it again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2013

A wonderful welcome from Kate and Roger to their beautifull garden and home. The room has it's own private entrance as well access to the living part of the house. Our spacious room had very pleasing decor and the lovely clean bathroom was highlighted with beautiful French decals of poppies. Our friendly hosts joined us for a beautiful breakfast which we enjoyed el fresco by the pool with the morning sun over our shoulders. Roger and Kate know their district well and offered may suggestions for our visit. If you choose Omaranui Homestay you will have made a grand choice.

Room Tip: Private entrance gives you the flexibility of coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
7.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
6.8 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
549 reviews
7.2 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
664 reviews
6.8 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
6.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omarunui Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omarunui Homestay

Property: Omarunui Homestay
Address: 69 Omarunui Road | Waiohiki, Napier 4183, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Napier
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing