We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stables Lodge Backpackers
Ranked #27 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Clean and tidy hostel that never fails to deliver on everything it promises. Unlimited free wifi that worked everytime for us, clean and tidy rooms with good mattresses. A little noisy after dark at times, but staff were always on-site to deal with noises when they were notified (they live opposite the main building, and as a staff member said once they can't hear people yelling in the rooms and hallways from there and need to be notified to fix it). So we slept just fine.
Cheapest bike hire in town (that we could find), and cheapest laundry too.
A very reasonable hostel.
Oh and the cats are adorable, but watch out for the little one with white feet. She's very sneaky and will curl up on your bed if you leave the outside door open (we were fine with this, but others may be allergic).

Room Tip: Room 8 is opposite the bathrooms, and at the end of the courtyard, and our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kinanna_ishtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    24
    7
    12
    15
See reviews for
7
22
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Rooms are rather small - in a dorm, there's hardly any space to put your bags but I was lucky and had the room on my own the first night. There's just one desktop PC so if you don't have a laptop, you need to wait to use the free internet. I liked the veranda that heads out to the street where you can sit on couches and enjoy the sunset.
The staff is nice and helpful but exaggerates their clean-your-dishes-policy a bit. They should be a bit more easy-going with it and not threaten you to lose your key deposit immediately if you'd rather have your hot meal first and THEN wash the saucepans.
The location is very central and therefore great.
They have one single bike that they hire, it's only 10 NZD a day which is cheap but the bike is honestly a bit rusty and not very comfortable, so if they say in the BBH guide that they have free bikes, they should have more than one.
All in all, I still enjoyed my stay a lot. I liked the buildings and was lucky to get a king-sized bed (the only one) in a shared room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klothilde M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Pro:
1. Location: Opposite the Warehouse, 10 mins to Countdown/Pak'N Save, 5 mins to Library, beach and CDB.
2. Free internet and Wifi.
3. Warm bed and room.

Con:
1. Noise at Night due to next to Hasting street and some long-term residents at the lodge (despite the 10pm curfew, they still talking out loud and even cooking during mid night).
2. Small room.
3. Kitchen, dining room and TV room are all at the same place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
276 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed here one night after being told our current hostel had no room (they lied, and it's Criterion Art Deco, FYI).

The rooms are literally former stables. They resemble the inside of a sleeping train car- narrow, with 2 bunks bolted to either wall, and 2 doors on each end. It's cute, but I wouldn't want to stay there for a LONG time.

Pluses:
- free wi-fi, a veritable unicorn of rarity in NZ
- adorable pet cat/kitten
- friendly staff
- free parking, easy to get

Minuses:
- a bit of a walk out of town, though right across from the beach
- no free breakfast
- can be noisy (it's small)
- rooms can be claustrophobic, and I certainly wouldn't want to share one with 3 other people!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cool_jonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

First of all: The location is really in the city center and there is free wifi. The rest was horrible. I stayed there for 3 days.

1. Very small rooms
2. Very loud beds (turn around and EVERYBODY is awake)
3. Cat hairs everywhere and it ate some of my sweets
4. TV "Loung": Its ONE room and when somebody is watching TV you nearly have to yell to understand each other

Last, but not least: They announced me as a "troublemaker" in the BBH Hostel network. But nobody talked to me! Even if there was something wrong I want to know about that BEFORE somebody puts me on a black list! That's the least you can do to a paying customer. I also dont recommend the horse treck, honestly I haven't done it, but Napier is not beautifull enough to waste your money there. I did it at lake Tekapo on the South Island, that was amazing!

I cannot recommend this hostel. Accusing customers as "troublemakers" without even talking to them is NOT how you should treat customers.

Room Tip: Beg to get a room not at the street. They are small and I mean VERY small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Napier is a nice town. Down there are over 15 hostels but the one we want to go to was booked out totally. The reason, why we choose the stables lodge was the internet and some good reviews.

The hostel is clean, yes. But this is nearly the only positive point.
The bathrooms are dirty nearly all the time and the cleaning was more show than really cleaning. Two of four showers are located directly in a bathroom, so you only have a shower curtain to stop the water from flowing all over the bathroom. After one person had a shower, the whole bathroom floor is wet and dirty from other people walking in. The roomkeys were not working proper all the time. Only some rooms have lockers and the ones in our room were broken. The room we were in was pretty small and the window was tiny - you can imagine, how nice the air is if there are sleeping four people in a room.
The management mixes up old people with backpackers - stress is programmed.
You have to leave the courtyard by 10pm. The alternative is the kitchen/commonroom/tv-lounge, which means: the TV is turned on very loudly, it smells for food all the time (no wonder - the cooker hoods are not working proper and its pretty crowded. There are only three tables squeezed in this small room together with a couch and two old armchairs.

It´s also weird, that you have to leave the courtyard at 10pm but the TV is turned on till after midnight very loudly - which is even more annoying than chatting people.

And furthermore: There is a cat who belongs (?) to the hostel. The cat is lying in the beds all the time - so this is def. not a hostel for allergic people!!!

The staff is unfriendly: You have to remove ALL your dishes BEFORE you eat and if you sit at the table a few minutes more for chatting aroung while your dishes are still on the table - they "remind" you to do your dishes instantly.

I mean - it´s a hostel, i don´t expect too much.. but the atmosphere is so tensed that I couldn´t enjoy my stay. Never again..

Room Tip: erm. Choose the wallys hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ral N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Friendly, helpful staff, and a clean, tidy environment, made my stay here very comfortable.
The free wireless internet was great. Unlimited access, so I could surf the night away.

Room Tip: Ask for a 4share room on the verandah side of the hostel. It's a little more expensive ($25) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#8 of 35 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#31 of 47 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fountain Court Motor Inn Motel
0.1 mi away
Beach Front Motel Napier
0.1 mi away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#8 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge Backpackers

Property: Stables Lodge Backpackers
Address: 370 Hastings Street | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stables Lodge Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Custom built budget accommodation for backpackers in New Zealand's Art Deco city, Napier. 5 minutes walk to city centre, 50 metres to ocean. FREE wireless internet. Horsetreks: beach, river and winery treks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stables Lodge Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing