We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
34
27
9
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
27
9
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifibunk bedsenjoyed my staywell equipped kitchenmarine paradehostelhallwaylounge
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

One of the best hostels I stayed in so far! Really clean, awesome location (so close to Pak'n'save and the city center!) and fast WiFi that reaches everywhere. Outside areas are really nice! The kitchen could be a little bigger but is has everything that's needed for preparing your meals. Rooms were clean and comfy. If you're lucky you might even get your own double bed!
I also loved the general atmosphere here. I was part of the "family" instantly and met really cool new friends. The staff is especially amazing! I will always keep the evenings full of beer, laughter and awesome conversations in good memory!
Cheers and lots of love to Beth and Ariel if you read this, you rock this place!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Herpes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

A lot of the questions asked here apply to a hotel, and travellers should bear in mind that it is a HOSTEL and to expect a dorm/uni halls type environment.

The staff were friendly and helpful, but in all honesty Stables is much better suited to the young solo traveller, with great opportunities for sharing and socialising.

I think we were unfortunate as the one night were there, there was a birthday party which did go on all night, so we moved on the next day as needed some where peaceful and relaxing to say.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EHopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Do not stay here! Infested with bedbugs. Got over 30 bites in one night. Can't believe there can still be open. Worst night of my life. Better of sleeping on a park bench. Do not stay at this backbackers!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank kingdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Kitchen is pretty gross and smells bad. Saw staff clean up the floor with a dish rag, then put it straight back to be used for cleaning dishes. Kept awake every night by people partying until 3-4 in the morning, I'm all down for backpacking to meet new people and have a good time, but the layout means that everyone else in the hostel is going to know about it with no reprieve. It's not exactly cheap either, there are better value backpackers elsewhere in town where you can have a good social time but also get some sleep if you want it/not have to deal with poor hygiene, bad smells, and creepy long-term residents.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kia_ora_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Don't book there unless you are a smoker and enjoy sleeping in smokers' rooms. They don't tell you when you book that you get a smokers' room... we travelled with our kids, stayed in a 4 bed room like we ususally do in the many nice backpacker sin NZ. In Stables Lodge the smoker area is on the veranda. Unfortunately our room and many others have windows and doors to the veranda only. It is warm here in summer so the only chance not to suffacote in your room is to open the door to the veranda... well and there is where the smokers are sitting till late in the night. Ruined our great day in Napier. Very sad.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank friederikesteinebach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews