We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveller rating
34
27
9
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
27
9
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifibunk bedsenjoyed my staywell equipped kitchenmarine paradehostelhallwaylounge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 97 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Stayed here for 12 nights and had a really good time. It's quiet place where you can meet some interesting new people too. Perfectly close to either the Marine Parade or the Napier City Center.
Rooms are clean and tidy, heated and spacious. The bunk beds in the dorm rooms are cozy and every bed has its own light.
Lounge, kitchen and bathrooms are getting cleaned every day according to a high standard.
WIFI works amazing even with a lot of people being in the Hostel.
Staff was always friendly and happy to help with queries, even in their freetime.

Only little negative point was the plug situation in the rooms. Only one plug (which was used for the heater) and two USB ports for four people. But you could always charge everything in the lounge.

I really enjoyed my stay; definetely highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

The backpacker is nice, feel like you are in the home of someone really welcoming. The common room openned on the kitchen brings people to talk to each others.
The rooms are nice and confy even if there are no curtains around the bed to feel a lilttle more intimate.
The team is really helpfull. Nicola is always up to help and arrange any needs, Ryeko and Tiphanie also are always available in case of questions.

The prices are good and you may have a 10% discount if you want to ride a horse at the horsetrekk boutique.

If you wanr to stay in Napier, this is a good choice, also this lodge is really quiet ;)

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Arteyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Room was clean and bed was really comfy. There was space enough for luggage and a locker available. The kitchen was clean and the food storage well organised. Staff was really nice! I enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Manond1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Having spent many weeks travelling around New Zealand and using backpacker accommodation all the time, we were disappointed with this place. We had a bunk bed studio room. We hadn't realised that it wasn't a one up and one down but a double bunk up a wooden ladder. There was not enough room to sit up straight when in the bed and I'm only 5ft 1inch tall. My husband couldn't get in and out of the bed safely so spent 2 nights on the very narrow sofa bed. The toilet, shower and sink were all clean. The communal kitchen was dreadful. It was always full of flies and the tea towels were horrible. Neither the microwave nor the oven worked so there were just 4 hobs for everyone to use on the morning we left. Staff were friendly but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dinkle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

One of the best hostels I stayed in so far! Really clean, awesome location (so close to Pak'n'save and the city center!) and fast WiFi that reaches everywhere. Outside areas are really nice! The kitchen could be a little bigger but is has everything that's needed for preparing your meals. Rooms were clean and comfy. If you're lucky you might even get your own double bed!
I also loved the general atmosphere here. I was part of the "family" instantly and met really cool new friends. The staff is especially amazing! I will always keep the evenings full of beer, laughter and awesome conversations in good memory!
Cheers and lots of love to Beth and Ariel if you read this, you rock this place!!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank Herpes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews