We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biking to Snapper Cafe”

Fishbike Bicycle Rentals
Book In Advance
More Info
US$53.03*
and up
Local Guided Biking Tour of Napier
More Info
US$68.41*
and up
Guided Electric Bike Tour of Napier
More Info
US$34.59*
and up
Half-Day Self-Guided Street Art Biking Tour in Napier and Ahuriri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Fishbike is a bike rental shop well located on Napier’s coastal Marine Parade, next to the Surf Club and the Ocean Spa. Fishbike provides a good range of quality bikes, both adult and children's bikes, suiting to all levels, skill and fitness: cruising , mountain, tandems, electric bikes, cargo bikes, fat-tyre bikes, trailers, baby seats... Exploring Hawke’s Bay by bike offers a beautiful adventure of 200km of off road, with stunning landscapes, ocean view, food, wine, activities and attractions.
La Veta
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Biking to Snapper Cafe”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fish Bike was located within easy walking distance from our hotel, right on the beach promenade. We talked to the owner, who was a terrific guy with a great sense of humor. He fitted us up with the type of bikes we wanted and told us different places we could go and approx. times it took to get there. Since we were all out of shape, he suggested a 2 hour ride (and back) to the Snapper Cafe for coffee. We took his advice and found it right where he said it was. I opted for an ice coffee (we were warm) and my son and daughter in law did too. I have to say, it was the best iced coffee I had ever had in my life.
When we returned, the guy didn't charge us the full time we were out, for which we were grateful. I'd highly recommend this shop for good bikes and very friendly service.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank geysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bike ride along the shore to a Cafe”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We hired bikes from Fishbike Bicycle Rentals last Saturday and peddled north along marine parade for 10kms to a great cafe called Snapper Park Cafe, ate a beautiful lunch had a great coffee with it (the cafe is licensed) and peddled back. The sign was shining, there was no wind, the surf was up and the path that we peddled on was smooth concrete and flat all the way - luxury! Four hours of bike hirage only cost $35.
Awesome friendly and knowledgeable service at Fishbike and at a great price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
23westshore, Owner at Fishbike Bicycle Rentals, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you for your review, At Fishbike we work hard to keep all our bikes in excellent order. The Hawke's Bay Trail offers an easy way to explore the area without the worry of vehicle traffic. Cycling is a wonderful freedom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helpful, friendly staff; reasonable prices; wonderful bike!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The beautiful hike/bike trail along the beach just begged for a bicycle, and before I knew it, I was off to explore more of Napier and the surrounding suburbs. I liked how comfortable and well-maintained the bike was; when I asked the staff person if he would take my photo, he was good-natured and encouraging of my adventure…A high point of my trip to Napier!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Easy ride and easy hire”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Although described by Te Pania hotel as being just across the road from the hotel Fishbike's location would actually be better described as right next door to the Surf Lifesaving club on Marine Parade as it is on the waterfront.
The rental process was simple and all that was required as security was a photo of our drivers licence which was deleted when we returned the bikes. The bikes were perpared quickly for us and a front pannier bag was provided to store the cycle map and the security lock on the trip. Although hourly rates are advertised we were advised we would only be charged for what we used when we returned the bikes. It was a windy day and we got good advice about where we would strike the wind heading around to Westshore and also further south along the Parade where the shelter of Bluff Hill disappears in a nor'wester. We appreciated also being advised what gear to use. The cycle ways around Hawkes Bay are now well outlined in a handy booklet and great signage indicating both the path direction and distance to key places was easy to follow. We were out and about for 3 hours and thought the $52 total charge for 2 bikes was very reasonable. The bike had only 5 gears but was set up so that pedalling was not required to change gears. The handlebars were at a good height and the bike seat was well padded! Next visit we will go further afield-weather pemitting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best way to see Napier”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

New or almost new bikes that could not be easier to use and hire. Maps, locks, everything you need, and ice cream when you finish.
Set off to the look out and tell me if you made it without getting off and pushing. You can cycle through the quite residential streets and look jealously at the great houses, freewheel down the hill if you dare and stop off for a beer by the sea.
Take the photo opportunity at the "Tram Stop".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishbike Bicycle Rentals also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Fishbike Bicycle Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing