We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one stop shop for Hawke's Bay wines”
Review of New Zealand Wine Centre - CLOSED

New Zealand Wine Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The New Zealand Wine Centre is one of Napier's Must-Do attractions. It is truly a wine lovers paradise or a good place to start to experience all about Hawke's Bay wines. The Hawke's Bay wine country has a lot to offer and produces great wines - the New Zealand Wine Centre makes it easy for everyone to learn, taste and enjoy great wines. Choose from over six different tasting options, go on a virtual scenic flight over the Bay or watch the History of Napier Film. As another little extra, the New Zealand Wine Centre is located in the iconic AMP building, a must-see for Art Deco Lovers.
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“one stop shop for Hawke's Bay wines”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

On a New Zealand cruise we were disappointed to have only the morning in Napier, as we are both admirers of the geat wines coming from the Hawke's Bay region and had been hoping to visit some vineyards. Then we found the New Zealand Wine Centre and signed up for their Wine Touring Adventure (I think it was $17NZ). After a half hour in the aroma room, browsing the 52 aromas to be found in wine, we moved to the theatre for an aerial tour of the Hawke's Bay wine region, then a tasting of six local wines (you can choose either white or red) with each wine introduced on the screen by the winemaker. A great overview of the region. We stocked up on the local wines from their excellent wine shop. Very professional, expert and friendly staff and real value for money.
Napier was our favourite stop on New Zealand's East Coast- the Art Deco city really turned it on for the cruise ship, with 30s jazz band, vintage cars and information volunteers in period costume.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank flyingfrancophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie Z, General Manager at New Zealand Wine Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Hi Flyingfrancophiles,
I just wanted to thank you on behalf of the team at the New Zealand Wine Centre for your review and we are glad to hear you had such a fantastic time and enjoyed our famous Wine Tasting adventure. Also Thank you very much for the photos you uploaded which we really appreciate. We hope to see you soon or "online" if you need to restock on your Hawke's Bay wines :-) Best wishes, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    10
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
“Great Experience, Tremendous Value”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Not just a wine store - a wine experience. Did the full tour, tasting great wines from local vintners, while a film of the producer played. Wonderful idea, tremendous value - in one hour I had an education, plus a Hawkes Bay wine tour, all in Napier. Highly Recommended - NCWC17.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a great nose”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Code NZWCO9
this was a fantastic expereince to be able to sit and have the wine makers explain their latest, then to be able to have a taste, a great variety of varieties. (red wine selection)
the smell expereince wa sgood also.
our guide was helpful and knew his stuff.
we went back the next day and tried the sweet delights, yum. (the wines great but the little cakes should have been home made not shope bought slice!!!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Informative, Fun, & Useful”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We learned so much from the virtual tour and scent room (we took the red wine tour). It's made a big difference in how I select my wines.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Queenmarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“NZWC04 - the complete overview of New Zealand Wines”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

It is a perfect way to compare many different New Zealand wines in one place, the concept of tasting and video explanation is perfect. Thanks also to the staff who were helpful and knowledgeable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanie Z, General Manager at New Zealand Wine Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Keith N,
thank you for your review and the feedback provided. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the famous wine tasting adventure and our different apporach to showcasing the best of a wine region to visitors. We hope you come back and see us next time you are in the Bay and enjoy some other tasting options we have.
Best Regards, Stefanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Zealand Wine Centre also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing