We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality and service”
Review of MINT Restaurant

MINT Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$21
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mint restaurant is set in an 1897 heritage house on Napier's Marine Parade, it's modernised interior offers comfortable ambient dining. Open for dinner Monday to Saturday, enjoy complimentary house-made bread while you peruse the menu. Our cuisine is contemporary with a twist of New Zealand influence and we are fully licensed. Mint is ideally suited to casual or intimate dining, business or celebrations. Sample menus and table bookings available on our website.Your hosts, Steve and Ruth Beere. Bon Appetit
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality and service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I happened upon Mint as the restaurant I planned to eat at was closed. It looks inviting and intimate and certainly is. The menu is high quality and full of technical dishes at absolutely great prices. The food is to die for with amazing presentation and surprising taste sensations.

If your in Napier you must go!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dallad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    104
    22
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Napier”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Excellent food. A must try for all chocoholics is the chocolate log dessert. My partner & I can have that as a main!! The lamb was amazing, flavourful & melt in your mouth tenderness! Wonderful service. Highly recommend it. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal. Great flavours”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

A group of us dined at Mint and we were all very well pleased with our meals. The FAWC special was excellent - I don't think I've ever had such tender delicious venison and the beetroot purée and sour cherry flavours complemented it perfectly. I couldn't fit in dessert but stole a couple of spoonfuls of chocolate log - next time I'll leave a bit more room!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelledBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Four of us went to Mint last Friday and found the food, service, and value for money were all very good. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Do not know about the food BUT service non-existent”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a reservation at 8 p.m.

On arrival we were shown to our table which was next to the toilet and we were told that no other tables were available.

Then had the menu and ordered 2 glasses of wine while we looked into the menu.

As the wine had not shown up 15 minutes later (and a lot of tables were still not occupied we left and found another place to eat.

Maybe it was because it was Sunday in the Art Deco weekend that the service was that bad but we would NEVER come back or recommend a restaurant with such an attitude.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MINT Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to MINT Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing