We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than average”

Trattoria alla Toscana
Ranked #22 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is the place in New Zealand where you'll succumb to romance and discover the tantalising flavours of Tuscany...Loving hand crafted pasta and salsa's. Followed by classic Bistecta Fiorentina or maybe a fresh fish....Having operated for 19 years providing locals & tourists great service & quality food. We use local providers for meat , fish and vegetables and all pasta etc made on site.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This restaurant is situated in one of the side streets and would be easy to miss if it weren't for the tables outside. The area does catch the evening sun so it was pleasant to sit outside for dinner. The food ( and prices) are both above average as is the service, which we found to be rather pretentious. However, we did enjoy our meal. My original glass of wine was decidedly 'off' but this was changed without quibble. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    65
    25
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Best service I have ever received!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

My partner and I visited on a busy Saturday night with every table full and the service was fantastic. Enzo the owner took our order and I am allergic to egg which can become worrisome when out for dinner and he was more then happy to tell me what I could order off the menu.The food was delicious and the service was very warm and friendly. I work in the local wine industry and I was very happy with what was on the wine list and the wine I ordered. Napier is very lucky to have this little gem of a restaurant! I hope to return soon for another very enjoyable night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trieste
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“nice people nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Everybody is very friendly, and the service is good. Clean and the food is very fresh.The restaurant is good if compared to the quality of the majority of NZ's restaurant, but still, for an italian restaurant is nothing special. The courses are cooked in a mix of italian and NZ manner (i.e. too many sweet souces on fish!!), so I suggest to go if you are not an italian!!!! moreover is not cheap.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank octopus81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Google Translation
Grazie per aver scelto il nostro ristorante nel vostro viaggio di luna di miele in Nuova Zelanda.
Ci scusiamo di non avervi soddisfatto in pieno; tutti gli ingredienti che usiamo per cuocere il nostro pesce del giorno si trovano anche in Italia, dove in ogni regione e famiglia lo può cuocere in diversi modi e con diverse spezie e sapori.
Siamo quattro italiani al momento che lavoriamo al ristorante, abbiamo cucinato per molti italiani negli ultimi 17 anni e tutti ci hanno lasciato con un sorriso.
Ci dispiace moltissimo che per voi non sia stato lo stesso.
Un saluto dallo staff.

Thank you for choosing to dine with us on your honeymoon. In general the menu items are presented as they our in our home country Italy and pricing reflects size -We are sorry that we did not met your expectations however we are confused by your sweet sauce on fish comment as the only ingredients used are butter,rosemary,cream,salt,pepper and lemon zest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food. High prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

We dined here in January 2014 while traveling through and left feeling a little ripped off. The food is good, (garlic bread delish) but we felt $23 for an entree sized gnocchi without any meat in it is quite extreme. For 2 cheap dishes, garlic bread and one dessert it came to $75 without a tip. The food is good, but does not warrant 5 star prices. The value is just not there for me. You can do better, unless you have a thick wallet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to visit us at Trattoria alla Toscana Restaurant, Napier . We are sorry that we did not met your expectations .

In keeping with many popular restaurants we offer menu items of varying sizes to cater all preferences. Generally the menu items are presented as they our in our home country and pricing reflects size - where requested our staff are happy to offer guidance.

.Please do take the opportunity to visit us again and make contact beforehand so that we can work through the menu with you and possibly explore some wonderful Italian delicacies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
224 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

When we originally viewed this restaurant from the street while shopping we were excited by the thought of an authentic Italian meal in a great setting in Napier.The menu looked great and what we could see of the interior looked inviting and rustically Italian-looking. Making a booking was easy once we had played phone tag trying to call out of dining hours.The owner greeted us with the same enthusiasm as when we made the booking. However apart from thanking us as we left we had limited contact with any wait staff once the meal was ordered. As we arrived after 8pm the restaurant wasn't overly busy and we were surprised to be taken to a table alongside a TV with a fake log fire burning in it...in the middle of summer? The restaurant is not BYO and with starting prices for quite ordinary wine at $40 the meal started to become a bit more expensive than we had originally planned for. We still however did manage 3 courses-the garlic pizza bread took a while to arrive and was average. I ordered an entree size pasta as main and when my partner asked how big that was he was told "100g" (what does that look like on a plate?) and that an upsize on the pasta at $8 extra for a main would be a better size for both of us. I stuck with the entree size chicken fettucine which was very bland compared to what I could cook at home. My partner's marinara was laden with mussels in shell, a chunk of fish and a few prawns which he also described as very bland compared to what we have had elsewhere or at home. When I asked about the mixed salad side dish I felt like an imbecile while it was patiently explained that it contained a mix of things apart from lettuce! The tiramisu was a tasty way to finish. Our expectations were not fulfilled from this meal and although we were polite when asked how we had enjoyed the meal we will not be returning here in a hurry.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverthreads101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
I am very sorry about your recent visit. We work very hard to make sure that every guest has a great time with us and I am personally disappointed to hear of your experience. I will be looking further into the matters that you have highlighted and dealing with each point accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria alla Toscana also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Trattoria alla Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing