We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant”

Trattoria alla Toscana
Ranked #25 of 201 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$26
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is the place in New Zealand where you'll succumb to romance and discover the tantalising flavours of Tuscany...Loving hand crafted pasta and salsa's. Followed by classic Bistecta Fiorentina or maybe a fresh fish....Having operated for 19 years providing locals & tourists great service & quality food. We use local providers for meat , fish and vegetables and all pasta etc made on site.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a bit of time to kill so popped in here. The service was good - not too much or too little, the ambience nice although not too sure about the TV come fire, but the food was lovely. We both had pasta, me the 2010 award winning seafood - yum! My wife enjoyed the ravioli, albeit quite small. The prices were at the top end and the restaurant lacked the energy of other Italian restaurants, but an enjoyable evening and I would recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    67
    25
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a shame!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Sadly, we cannot recommend Napier's only Italian restaurant. The pasta in our lasagne was burned, the sauce was mediocre and the service was poor.
We tried to make a 6 pm reservation, but were told by (we believe) the owner that we must be thereby 5:45, to be seated and have our orders placed by 6 pm, as it was a busy night. This was really earlier than we desired, but we complied. However, although custom was steady, the restaurant was never full...making us wonder at the insistence our early arrival.
At no time during our meal did any staff approach us to enquire if everything was satisfactory, we needed something, etc. It was only when the waiter came to remove our plates that he saw the burned pasta at the side, and promised to inform the chef. They did reduce the total of our bill, but no one came to apologise, invite us to try again, etc. The owner avoided us until we left. Very sad, as we had looked forward to the meal/experience very much. We will not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
This is a very rare response however it is required as we did really try with these dinners and where concerned about their manner from the moment they entered our little business .
Actually; we were busy that night our bookings came in all at 6.45pm and we where full!!!. When we tried to accommodate everyone who where going to the show by 7.45pm and we tried to look after you. However your manner was so difficult , that we avoided your table,as we had a lot of delightful guests to attend to, including your comments when your bill was a presented .
We did have a busy night with a lot of delightful customers who we tried our very best to accommodate and allow them to get to their show on time, then followed by our regular dinners. Therefore as a business the mass customers rule we aim to please those that can be pleased.
We , could not let you just sit at a table with a glass of tap water & and one entree dish for hours, as your table was re booked that was why you where given a early dining time, for this we are sorry. Maybe it would of been better for us to decline your booking.
However ,I understand that sometimes not all people can be pleased .As it is sometimes how their day has gone before they enter a restaurant as to how their evening is going to go it might of been better for you to go elsewhere where you could sit for hours as they were not busy and did not have nice damask linen and authentic Italians.
Furthermore nobody else complained about the lasagne the whole evening and we sold all 30 portions made for that evening not a tiny bit on any plate came back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in Napier”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After a month long trip around the North Island I can say that this was the best restaurant experience of the whole trip. The food was outstanding, the owners and staff friendly and the service excellent. A must eating experience if you are visiting Napier. Try the Lemoncello after your meal - devine!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere Average Food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This restaurant has the potential to be better that what it is. The atmosphere is good, the staff are friendly but the food was very average for the price that we paid. Were recommended this restaurant maybe the kitchen had a bad night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We are sorry & deeply regretful that you have had a bad experience.
Yes, it was not our best night ever as we had two staff off due to personal reasons and 6 people booked we thought that it would be a normal Sunday in Napier .
However, this all changed in the spate of 30 minutes when 70 people who had not booked walked in in small groups,looking to dine.
We tried our very best to cater for everyone. However with the global trend of casual dining in a small restaurants of people walking in off the street it is sometimes difficult.
It was our most difficult night on record as we found out later that it was three bus loads of people who had arrived with out any prior consultation on the recommendation of another business. We again very sorry and would like to apologise it was a very unusual event in over 18 years in the business and I am very proud of my staff that they handled the situation extremely well.
We, would like to offer you the opportunity to contact us so we can give you another opportunity to try the authentic Italian Cusine.
We have been established in this business since 1996 and prior to that owner Restaurants in Pisa , Italy.
We always aim to provided the best food and service and always are happy to resolve any customer problems either a replacement or change of dish to met the individuals needs.
As part of our service to customers we aim to offer only the best and delight in making things right.

Again we are sorry & deeply regretful that you have had a bad experience. Kind Regards Enzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, always delivers.”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Beauty of a restaurant in Napier. Great atmosphere and great food. The owners are really friendly and will always be free to offer advice on the extensive list of food they have at the restaurant. Ate here last night with my wife. The delicious T-bone steak was cooked brilliantly and my wife's seafood pasta tasted just as good as it looked. having eaten in Italy we love to come here and recreate the happy memories authentic Italian food in a great setting. Thanks once again guys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria alla Toscana also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Trattoria alla Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing