We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food Not to be Missed in Napier”

Trattoria alla Toscana
Ranked #23 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$25
Cuisines: European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is the place in New Zealand where you'll succumb to romance and discover the tantalising flavours of Tuscany...Loving hand crafted pasta and salsa's. Followed by classic Bistecta Fiorentina or maybe a fresh fish....Having operated for 19 years providing locals & tourists great service & quality food. We use local providers for meat , fish and vegetables and all pasta etc made on site.
Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food Not to be Missed in Napier”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It is located in a mainly pedestrian area of the main shopping street so is easy to miss if just driving around looking for an eatery. It is very well patronised so booking is recommended, will visit again next time we stay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Umfoloz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    67
    25
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best night out in so many ways”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

it is not often you get excellent food and service rolled into one but this is what we experienced here. The menu had a wide variety and was absolutely scrumptious. And the owner and his team have personality plus as well as superior service. This is not the cheapest meal you will have out but in saying that, the prices were middle of the road. A nice touch was the perfume in the womens toilet - I gather the men had a nice aftershave in theirs. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank na0mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Authentic Italian!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fantastic overall experience. Food was enjoyed by adults AND children. Great hosting too. Perfect for special occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
286 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We had a bit of time to kill so popped in here. The service was good - not too much or too little, the ambience nice although not too sure about the TV come fire, but the food was lovely. We both had pasta, me the 2010 award winning seafood - yum! My wife enjoyed the ravioli, albeit quite small. The prices were at the top end and the restaurant lacked the energy of other Italian restaurants, but an enjoyable evening and I would recommend a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a shame!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Sadly, we cannot recommend Napier's only Italian restaurant. The pasta in our lasagne was burned, the sauce was mediocre and the service was poor.
We tried to make a 6 pm reservation, but were told by (we believe) the owner that we must be thereby 5:45, to be seated and have our orders placed by 6 pm, as it was a busy night. This was really earlier than we desired, but we complied. However, although custom was steady, the restaurant was never full...making us wonder at the insistence our early arrival.
At no time during our meal did any staff approach us to enquire if everything was satisfactory, we needed something, etc. It was only when the waiter came to remove our plates that he saw the burned pasta at the side, and promised to inform the chef. They did reduce the total of our bill, but no one came to apologise, invite us to try again, etc. The owner avoided us until we left. Very sad, as we had looked forward to the meal/experience very much. We will not return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enz023, Owner at Trattoria alla Toscana, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
This is a very rare response however it is required as we did really try with these dinners and where concerned about their manner from the moment they entered our little business .
Actually; we were busy that night our bookings came in all at 6.45pm and we where full!!!. When we tried to accommodate everyone who where going to the show by 7.45pm and we tried to look after you. However your manner was so difficult , that we avoided your table,as we had a lot of delightful guests to attend to, including your comments when your bill was a presented .
We did have a busy night with a lot of delightful customers who we tried our very best to accommodate and allow them to get to their show on time, then followed by our regular dinners. Therefore as a business the mass customers rule we aim to please those that can be pleased.
We , could not let you just sit at a table with a glass of tap water & and one entree dish for hours, as your table was re booked that was why you where given a early dining time, for this we are sorry. Maybe it would of been better for us to decline your booking.
However ,I understand that sometimes not all people can be pleased .As it is sometimes how their day has gone before they enter a restaurant as to how their evening is going to go it might of been better for you to go elsewhere where you could sit for hours as they were not busy and did not have nice damask linen and authentic Italians.
Furthermore nobody else complained about the lasagne the whole evening and we sold all 30 portions made for that evening not a tiny bit on any plate came back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria alla Toscana also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Trattoria alla Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing