We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kitchen Table - CLOSED

The Kitchen Table
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating
Description: Great little cafe, attached to the excellent Hawke's Bay Photographers Gallery.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful homemade food, delicious coffee and very interesting décor.
We go there once a month for morning tea, in fact it is the only place we go for morning tea :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Quant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This cafe is like grandma' kitchen. There are lots of great art books to look through as you enjoy a coffee. Food is very nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Napiertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Art Gallery Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you are the kind of person who likes trying different places, this place is a nice idea. The decor is pleasant; it is interesting to look at the art work displayed here. It is also in the city center so the location is convenient as well. The coffee was good. The atmosphere and the layout of the place is such that it seems better to visit this place with someone else or in a group with other people rather than alone. They also offer a variety of food for eating in. This place is recommendable if you have not been here before.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry_Fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
202 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Interesting & Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a place for lunch. One of the recommendations was The Kitchen Table. It sounded different, so we decided to try it. Have you ever eaten a meal @ photography studio? We tried the corn fritters on a bed of leafy greens, topped with bacon strips & a lightly-sweetened salad dressing. Excellent! While waiting for our order, we checked out the art work displayed in the sitting area. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Amazing. Loved it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

What a real gem in Napier and for New Zealand.
Food and coffee usual high cafe standards, well presented and very fresh using locally sourced ingredients etc.
What I loved as well as the quirky and different decor was the ATTITUDE and aim of the place: Community-space used frequently for the town and acting as an art gallery. There was such a great energy about the place and a really great attitude from the owners about how the space could be more than a cafe/restaurant.
A fantastic team led by husband-wife team - BIG thumbs up to them and all the best for the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jgp1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kitchen Table also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing