We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait and Switch?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Packard Promenades - CLOSED

Packard Promenades
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bait and Switch?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

For $550 for 5 hours,we expected a special afternoon, but we were sorely disappointed. Maybe if Graham had taken us it would have been different, but he was too busy sitting in the sun with his lady friends that day. The guide he pawned us off on, John Speakman, was certainly polite and nice, but very uncommunicative, perhaps because he knew almost nothing about wine and was nervous about misspeaking. But why take a guided wine tour with someone who can't guide. When we asked what wine was his favorite he replied 'beer.' We went to some respectable vineyards, but because he had no rapport with the servers we received no descriptions and were served the most mediocre tastings, all the while being rushed by John to finish up because we were behind schedule. (They started us late because they didn't know how to process our credit card.) John was good on the Napier history, but we had already had a terrific walking tour with the Art Deco Trust and wanted to focus on the wine. Other problems - he didn't seem to be very comfortable driving the antique car, lots of grinding of gears, and I sometimes wondered if he didn't know the best route. He stopped at his house and left us sitting in the car for five or ten minutes. He brought us back 20 minutes early, all minor complaints that we wouldn't have noticed if the trip itself had been worthwhile. But at this price, we got ripped off. We had thought it would be a memorable afternoon, and it was, but for all the wrong reasons.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelerwithanaltitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked with these people when we toured New Zealand in dec 2013.
Our guides name was tony he was rude and we could not wait to get out and back to the boat.
Do not use this service you will regret it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kaptin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do tour in Napier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This tour was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. We travelled around town in a vintage car, learning about the amazing history of Napier. It was insightful, intimate, engaging and best of all we got a private tour of Napier Municipal Theatre. Graham, the owner of the business, was absolutely fabulous. Everyone who visits Napier should do this tour!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KorenaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Packard Promenades, Art Deco Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I contacted Graham and booked Packard Promenades some months prior to our cruise on the Sea Princess. We were met at Port by Tere in a glistening Packard for a journey through time on The Art Deco Tour. We enjoyed a grand ride through Napier on this tour. It was a lot of fun and so enjoyable. Our driver Tere is a wonderful teacher and host. We came away learning so much about Napier and Art Deco as she shared comprehensive and fascinating information. The tour also took us to wonderful wineries, Mission Estate, Brookfields and Church Road Winery where we enjoyed a platter for two with wine. As part of the tour we dressed in 1930's style, assisted with a few extra props by the tour to finish the look. We felt very much part of life in the 30's within the beautiful Packard. This was a great tour for two, away from large groups and much more fun! If you're looking for something different, a tour for two around Napier, I recommend Packard Promenades.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Not to be Missed tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked with Packard Promenades tour online before our cruise. This was a very easy process, with professional, but friendly responses to our queries. Tony was waiting for us on the wharf, at the arranged time, when we stepped off our cruise ship, Oosterdam, on 15th December 2013
Our tour was terrific as Tony is extremely knowledgeable regarding Napier’s history and the history of the area. His enthusiasm for all things Art Deco is reflected in his detailed explanations of the rebuilding of the town following a massive earthquake in early 1930s. The tour covered a whole range of attractions, with expert and interesting commentary at all times, which we found to be most informative .Art Deco has taken on a whole new meaning......
This was one of the best days on our cruise and we do not hesitate to recommend Tony and Packard Promenades.
Jim and Beth
Perth

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SKIClubmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Packard Promenades also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing