We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice casual dining with superb view”

Boardwalk Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 197 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, View, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“nice casual dining with superb view”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

off the cuff we called in for dinner on a saturday night. Seated out side watching the waves and the bay. Staff were casual and relaxed meal was great. Easy comfortable. Recomend

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    150
    68
    42
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT EAT HERE”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are not local people and travel to Napier frequently as we enjoy the ambiance Napier has to offer. We always book a table for dinner every time we travel to Napier. This night we invited six friends who were also travelling to Napier to join us. The night was a nightmare!! When we arrived we were told there was no paua, pork belly as a main or beef Wellington. The waiter took our orders. Three of us had pork belly as an entry, it was disgusting. It was deep fried in breadcrumbs and the roast vegetables underneath were so burnt we couldn’t eat them. Then the mains finally arrived what a circus. One of our party ordered a steak when he finally got it was very cold, this was sent back to the kitchen and his original steak was returned to him after it had been microwaved. Another person ordered the fish of the day, which arrived so undercooked he couldn’t eat it. I ordered the spicy seafood hotpot. That was totally disgusting. it was lumpy tomato soup NOT SPICY AT ALL with a very small piece of fish, two mussels 3 king prawns and a lobster claw swimming it. I had to get my fingers into the soup to fish out the muscles and prawns which were dry and not fresh tasting and there was no tool given to me to open the cray leg. By the time the matradee came to our table to explain her way through our nightmare of an evening all our food was cold and returned to the kitchen virtually uneaten. I DO NOT RECOMMEND this as a restaurant to go to. It is WELL OVERPRICED and the food is UNPALATABLE which is a huge disappointment as the scenery from the restaurant is spectacular. What a total waste and such a shame that the restaurant has nose dived the way it has. It used to be one of the best, if not top 5 places to eat in Napier. NOT ANYMORE - DO NOT EAT THERE!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to the Crown”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was a great location however the food was not up to what I expect. We had the seafood Chowder which was fine and I had oysters but they were tasteless. On telling the waitress she said the chef had to wash them as they had a lot of sand in them. For $22.00 not good value at all.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Good views, great to be able to walk straight onto the beach. Service fine, food was OK, but far too much lettuce in salads. Good choice on the menu. Coeliac diets not too much of an issue.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“On the beach”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Called in for a coffee and sit in the sun.

Ended up having an entrée and wine. An unexpected surprise. Kalsi our waitress looked after us exceptionally well and made the experience thoroughly enjoyable.

The food was great with one of the best oyster dishes I have had for a while.

Definitely recommended for an enjoyable way of sitting on the beach, in the sun and relaxing.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing