We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty mussel platter”

Boardwalk Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 198 Restaurants in Napier
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very tasty mussel platter”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Boardwalk has been refurbished since I was last there, and now has two distinct area, one for bar/snacks and the other for more formal dining. We called in for drinks and a mussel platter this week and thoroughly enjoyed it. The mussels were steamed in white wine, very tender and delicious in their coconut cream and chilli sauce. Service is friendly and the room was cosy despite the whitecaps on the sea outside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank earthsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    154
    69
    42
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Great Location on the Beachfront”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This Restaurant/Bar was just across the road from our Hotel so we wandered across on Friday night for a pre-dinner drink, sitting outside beachfront. We hadn't really decided where to eat at this stage but after a while we saw the meals coming out from the kitchen to tables around us and they looked good so we decided to stay & eat. My husband had the Spicy Seafood Hot Pot, which he enjoyed & I had the Paua Fritters which were also enjoyable. It was lovely sitting outside looking over the water. Food & Service were good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikato
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely, thanks”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Called in, looked at menu. Rang back later and asked for booking for 3pax next day, inside but with views.
Arrived on time next day, table was exactly what I'd asked for. Staff friendly, and helpful. Drinks, menus, ordering and meals served - all very timely. Staff were flat out bringing groups in and out due to weather but it all happened with smiling faces. The team here are well trained and happy in their work!!
Food was very good, and as ordered. Views and location brilliant. A really good experience!!
Will certainly go back again if the opportunity arises.
Thanks guys for your professional and friendly service

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crayfishWaikato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dinner mid-week ....”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Dropped in without reservation. Scooped up smilingly and efficiently - table near the beach, behind a see-through screen with an aspect to the ocean, indoors as the temperature would fall outside in the evening.
Meals were well-presented and tasty. Beef Bourguignon was particularly enjoyable - and portions were substantial. Others have reported the food is variable, but my experience was happier. They weren't too busy on a mid-week evening, which may have been a positive factor for the kitchen staff; perhaps take care at busy/peak times?
Relaxed atmosphere, lingered over wine. Among last to leave, but the team remained cheerful. On the basis of this experience, would go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roy and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, great outdoor view”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were staying opposite, went in for a drink and stayed for food in the covered outdoor area. We watched the outriggers sailing in the bay and the cruise ship leaving as local came in to eat which is always a good sign.

Well looked-after, good food well prepared and served. Not the cheapest but a lovely evening. We'd go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boardwalk Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Boardwalk Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing