We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Art House Backpackers
Ranked #29 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
“Best hostel ever”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Art House Backpackers is one of the best hostels where I´ve ever been ! The atmosphere is just so awesome and you feel like home from the first second you step in there. New Owners Tim and nic are wonderful and they help you with everything !

Definitely worth of staying a bit longer time at this place !

Best parts: owners, free wifi, location, cleanliness and size of the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tapeiponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
6
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It's good for people who worked there, but nah for traveller. I don't know is it because of the tense market or what, but I don't feel welcome at first. Shaking double decker, dirty bathroom, but at least it has a "good" common area where you can sit down and enjoy any movie (there's an adapter to connect to your laptop). The whole street full with other backpackers I'm sure you can find better elsewhere than this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

After almost one year in New Zealand, I can say Andy's Backpacker is the worst backpacker of my trip.
The kitchen was really dirty, I couldn't use a pan or a plate because they were all dirty, there was a lot of food on the floor, a lot of flies on the air, no washing product, no tea-towel...
I spent my night in a dorm room but I was alone in the dorm because the guy said me he was so lazy to change the dirty sheets in the others beds...
If you're gonna to visit Napier, avoid this hostel!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkevin-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here once before. Once again it was comfortable. No great luxury but hey, it's for backpackers. Bed OK, bathrooms OK with hot, hot water for showers.
I think it's looking a little tired and could do with a good clean and mild refurb.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlamJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is by far the worst hostel I've ever stayed at. It was impossible to walk bare feet in my own room, only a minute after checking in because the quality of the cleaning was grim. So much rubbish on the floor, the kitchen has dishes piled miles high because nobody seems to clean them. The toilets never seem to have toilet roll and my room was really dark. I have very little positives to say about this hostel, and after seeing other reviews about bed bugs, it doesn't surprise me. Sorry, but sort it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This Back-Packer / Hostel is located downtown about ½ block from the City Hall & Town Center main pedestrian street as well as the sea-side park. So it’s close to everything. Our room facing the alley was small but had a private bath and some furniture. The kitchen has electric stove tops which limited cooking options and room in the refrigerator tight. The kitchen/dining area could get crowded but we did not have a problem using it. The Napier Historical Society’s Walking Tour of Art Deco buildings was excellent and well worth the time and ticket price. Do the tour first if you can so you’ll know more of what your seeing. Parking on the street was not a problem. We stayed 1 night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada de Gomez, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at Andy's Backpacker in February 2012 and have received about 20 bites on my body from bed bugs. Important warning from one traveller to another.... Had I known before hand, I would have avoided that unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldadventurer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.1 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
0.0 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#9 of 35 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Archies Bunker Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel de la Mer
Motel de la Mer
#23 of 47 in Napier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art House Backpackers

Property: The Art House Backpackers
Address: 259 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand (Formerly Andy's Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art House Backpackers is located on Napier's Marine Parade with Pacific Ocean views. We offer our guests a funky relaxing environment and a perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Art Deco city beyond. Free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee, friendly welcoming staff and a beachfront location. Our facilities include a large guest kitchen and dining area, sunny outdoor courtyard, TV lounge and laundry. Less than 10 minutes walk from the bus stop, supermarket and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Art House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing