We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Arthouse is the place to be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Art House Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Art House Backpackers
Ranked #29 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Aichach, Deutschland
2 reviews
“Arthouse is the place to be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

As soon as i checked in, it felt more like a home than a hostel as the staff is very friendly and helpful. You have got free unlimited and very fast wifi, which is a big bonus in nz. Tidy bathrooms and kitchen which is big enough. Moreover you can watch TV, the german football league Bundesliga and the english Premier League, Champions League and Europa League. Additionally there is a hard drive with a big choice of movies. But if you only stay for a short time you dont even have to bother about getting bored, just sit outside in the lovely garden, where there are always people around and have a good time.
Value for money is excellent, as I felt very comfortable. People who feel different mostly didnt even want to be part of this "hostel-family" sitting together and having fun. Was the best hostel i stayed in, and im already at the end of my travels, so i could compare a lot.
If you plan to go to napier, stay at the arthouse!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mowoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
5
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Cool hostel with a great atmosphere and awesome staff! Free wifi is a real bonus in New Zealand and it was fast here and always worked properly. Nice and clean kitchen and bathrooms too. St Patrick's day was so much fun, playing games and messing around in the garden. I recommend this place to everyone traveling to Napier!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuedelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lille, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

No paper Roll in toilets, kitchen dirty and just one sink / one tiny microwave / one oven for all the people... Gets very busy at lunch or dinner time then. No sugar no coffee : had to ask for everything. I like "cool" things but there it´s too much of "i don't care"

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank hibou6287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We checked in after hours but there was someone around to meet us. Clean bedrooms and well stocked kitchen area. Good tv set up with hard drive for films/sport channels/Xbox/place to connect own laptop. Relatively quiet in comparison to other hostels in nz however napier is a much smaller town.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzibob00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

I stayd there 3 weeks and just loved the place! This small and cozy hostel was everything else than most of the crowded hostels are. Just loved the athmosphere there and it was perfecly located, just by the beach and center. And it is cheap :) the owners were more than friendly so it made me feel like I was very welcome there.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiinajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuopio, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Art House Backpackers is one of the best hostels where I´ve ever been ! The atmosphere is just so awesome and you feel like home from the first second you step in there. New Owners Tim and nic are wonderful and they help you with everything !

Definitely worth of staying a bit longer time at this place !

Best parts: owners, free wifi, location, cleanliness and size of the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapeiponen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipoh
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

It's good for people who worked there, but nah for traveller. I don't know is it because of the tense market or what, but I don't feel welcome at first. Shaking double decker, dirty bathroom, but at least it has a "good" common area where you can sit down and enjoy any movie (there's an adapter to connect to your laptop). The whole street full with other backpackers I'm sure you can find better elsewhere than this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#25 of 48 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stables Lodge Backpackers
0.0 mi away
YHA Napier
YHA Napier
#7 of 36 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quest Napier
Quest Napier
#5 of 36 in Napier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art House Backpackers

Property: The Art House Backpackers
Address: 259 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand (Formerly Andy's Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art House Backpackers is located on Napier's Marine Parade with Pacific Ocean views. We offer our guests a funky relaxing environment and a perfect base from which to explore the beautiful Art Deco city beyond. Free Wi-Fi, free tea and coffee, friendly welcoming staff and a beachfront location. Our facilities include a large guest kitchen and dining area, sunny outdoor courtyard, TV lounge and laundry. Less than 10 minutes walk from the bus stop, supermarket and city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Art House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing