We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning.”
Review of Indigo

Indigo
Ranked #4 of 215 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: What you can expect on the menu at Indigo We are a contemporary fine dining Indian restaurant where all of our dishes are cooked fresh to order. We never compromise on quality and offer a range of traditional and unique dishes, constantly offering our guests new experiences and tastes. Getting the spice right Our Indian hot is truly hot, so we only recommend it if you know you enjoy spice. We offer 5 more levels of spice from Extremely Hot,New Zealand hot, medium, medium-Hot and mild. Please ask us about which dishes suit the spicier styles such as Jalfrezi's and Vindaloos, as some dishes like Korma or Dal Bukhara are best enjoyed milder. The Kitchen We operate a traditional charcoal tandoor that you can be assured gives the best flavour to all our dishes including our selection of naan breads. All dishes are cooked from scratch specifically to your order. The Drinks Menu Indigo offers the largest selection of Hawke's Bay wine in the region and is proud to offer one of the broadest selections of gin, vodka, rum and bourbons. What are you famous for? We pour the largest whiskey selection in New Zealand with over 500 bottles on offer. Whiskey connoisseur and Indigo owner Paul Anderson will happily help you with a recommendation. You can order Indigo for delivery to your accommodation anywhere in Napier. This is ideal to continue sampling Hawke's Bay wines or global whiskies in your own time. You may also arrive at the Amber Bar after dining anywhere in Napier from 7pm. Where is Indigo Indigo is situated in the Parker's Chambers Art Deco Building built in 1932 in the heart of Napier. Table seating is ideal for groups, as well as booth seating for groups of 4 - 8. We recommend advance table booking Thursday through Sunday.
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this wonderful spot on a cold rainy Wednesday evening as a walk in of eight. The staff were very warm and quick to greet and seat, within moments our order was decided and taken. And the drinks arrived promptly. Fantastic range of single malt whiskeys coupled with a great selection of beer (local and international) meant we were spoilt for choice. The food arrived shortly following the end of our drinks and great conversation and my expectations were blown out of the water. If you're in Napier it's a must visit. Thank you team!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tamateabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi
Thankyou so much for your review
All of us at Indigo really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience, personally it is great to read that you are also a Whisky fan!
kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 647 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a meal here on the recommendation of our B&B hosts and weren't disappointed. The restaurant is centrally placed and nicely decorated. We were lucky to get a table as the place is very popular so I would say that booking is highly recommended as it seems the locals come here not just the tourists.
The menu was pretty standard (by London standards) but well executed and good value for money. I would go there again if I were ever in Napier again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your review, it is aways a real pleasure to have visitors too Napier dine with us.
We are very passionate about what we do here at Indigo and it is great to read that you where not dissappointed with your experience
We do really appreciate it when people recommend our restaurant and we thank your hosts very much for recommending us to you

Kind Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was another great meal out in Napier. Service was good and friendly - quite formal. My partners meal was too hot for her upon the first mouthful and the dish was whisked away and cooled down sufficiently within minutes. Good service. Both of our dishes were very tasty and well prepared - good depth of flavours. I highly recommend the Goat Bhuna.

Thank Redwoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your review, it is always great to recieve feedback, thats how we improve
Its always very pleasing to read that a guest has enjoyed their experience, both service and food. The Chefs are very good at getting the heat level of the food right, however sometimes we don't get it quite right, on these occaisions we are more than happy to re do the dish to ensure our guest has it to their taste
Again many thanks for your kind words
regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Both the food and service were outstanding. My wife and I wandered in to Napier looking for somewhere to eat and fortunately stumbled on Indigo. We started with a mixed chicken platter. 5 pieces of succulent chicken each marinated differently. The dish was clearly explained by the waiter and each piece of chicken was a joy to eat. Our two mains, Dacha Gosht and East Indian Swordfish Curry, were new to us and didn't disappoint. I would highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food, the decor and the extremely professional, friendly and courteous staff. We have eaten in a lot of Indian restaurants in New Zealand and on our experiences this visit, Indigo is the best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Walden16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your review. we really appreciate it when our guests take their time to write a review on Indigo, feedback is very important to us
It is great to read that you enjoyed your experience at Indigo and hopefully we will see you next time you are in Napier
Again many thanks
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

What Impressed me the most about 'Indigo' was the shear class of the place, for an Indian restaurant, it doesn't follow the obvious trend of low ceilings, cluttered Indian artefacts and music playing like so many Indian Restaurants have. It very much has its own style, a classy, minimalist decor with exceptional cleanliness and warm atmosphere.

We were welcomed immediately with a big smile and friendly manner, and within a minuet we were seated and ready to get comfortable to peruse the drinks menu..and what menu that was! Indigo has a vast selection of whiskeys and wines, the largest Selection I have ever seen in a restaurant., as well as Craft beer, bottled lager, and pretty much anything else alcoholic or otherwise anyone would hope to drink with a meal. The waitressing was sharp, professional, and very efficient. Within 5 minuets we were enjoying our first drinks and looking over the food menu.

The choice of food is also very wide, catering for those whom like it hot and spicy with dishes such as Chilli Chicken and Rogan Josh, and also the favorites such as butter chicken and Lamb Korma. Within 15 minuets our meals where out, piping hot and smelling delicious. Each meal, not only presented beautifully in polished silver serving dishes, are presented in large portions, the chunks of various meats are just devine and the flavour is explosive...we shared a little of each others meal and everyone of them was stunning, just stunning.

I had mainly the Tandoori platter, which consists of, lamb chop, lamb kebab, two types of chicken kebabs and a shihk kebab...a huge portion of very affordable meat...my dish was sizzling on a hot plate and was truly authentic..the meat, cooked in the tandoor just fell of the bone, whatever was used to season the food was out of this world...I would recommend this dish as a must have at Indigo.

The food is very affordable, and for the experience we had, as well as the variety of drinks and dishes we tried, the final bill was actually very small.

What a great, great experience eating here was. I implore anyone passing through Napier to make stopping here a priority. Well Done Indigo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Toy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Hi
Many thanks for your lovely review, we really do appreciate you taking time to gives us feedback
Great to read that you enjoyed your experience and hopefully we will see you again

regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing