We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indigo

Indigo
Ranked #4 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: What you can expect on the menu at Indigo We are a contemporary fine dining Indian restaurant where all of our dishes are cooked fresh to order. We never compromise on quality and offer a range of traditional and unique dishes, constantly offering our guests new experiences and tastes. Getting the spice right Our Indian hot is truly hot, so we only recommend it if you know you enjoy spice. We offer 5 more levels of spice from Extremely Hot,New Zealand hot, medium, medium-Hot and mild. Please ask us about which dishes suit the spicier styles such as Jalfrezi's and Vindaloos, as some dishes like Korma or Dal Bukhara are best enjoyed milder. The Kitchen We operate a traditional charcoal tandoor that you can be assured gives the best flavour to all our dishes including our selection of naan breads. All dishes are cooked from scratch specifically to your order. The Drinks Menu Indigo offers the largest selection of Hawke's Bay wine in the region and is proud to offer one of the broadest selections of gin, vodka, rum and bourbons. What are you famous for? We pour the largest whiskey selection in New Zealand with over 400 bottles on offer. Whiskey connoisseur and Indigo owner Paul Anderson will happily help you with a recommendation. You can order Indigo for delivery to your accommodation anywhere in Napier. This is ideal to continue sampling Hawke's Bay wines or global whiskies in your own time. You may also arrive at the Amber Bar after dining anywhere in Napier from 7pm. Where is Indigo Indigo is situated in the Parker's Chambers Art Deco Building built in 1932 in the heart of Napier. Table seating is ideal for groups, as well as booth seating for groups of 4 - 6. We recommend advance table booking Thursday through Sunday.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a mother/daughter lunch here on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews, and wasn't disappointed. Lunch prices were excellent value, and the quality of food the best Indian we have had in NZ.. The lamb was particularly tender and lean. Top service, reasonable wine. Would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabusbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    137
    43
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indian Food in Euro Decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely roomy Indian Resturant in an European Decor. No Incense smells here! Big glossy menu to choose from. Had warm welcome and attentive service. The waiter was very hospitable and showed good knowledge of meal content, as we had a diner with allergies. Food was fantastic and a good price. Bar well stocked. Something for everybody.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Moo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napier
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food, the best Indian in Napier.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Food was very good, plenty of room and service was pretty prompt and friendly. There was a big group of us and food all came out together. Had to keep flagging down waiter for drinks orders though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reuben1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Stunning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this wonderful spot on a cold rainy Wednesday evening as a walk in of eight. The staff were very warm and quick to greet and seat, within moments our order was decided and taken. And the drinks arrived promptly. Fantastic range of single malt whiskeys coupled with a great selection of beer (local and international) meant we were spoilt for choice. The food arrived shortly following the end of our drinks and great conversation and my expectations were blown out of the water. If you're in Napier it's a must visit. Thank you team!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamateabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi
Thankyou so much for your review
All of us at Indigo really appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience, personally it is great to read that you are also a Whisky fan!
kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Authenic flavours and attractive presentation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked a meal here on the recommendation of our B&B hosts and weren't disappointed. The restaurant is centrally placed and nicely decorated. We were lucky to get a table as the place is very popular so I would say that booking is highly recommended as it seems the locals come here not just the tourists.
The menu was pretty standard (by London standards) but well executed and good value for money. I would go there again if I were ever in Napier again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A, Owner at Indigo, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi
Many thanks for your review, it is aways a real pleasure to have visitors too Napier dine with us.
We are very passionate about what we do here at Indigo and it is great to read that you where not dissappointed with your experience
We do really appreciate it when people recommend our restaurant and we thank your hosts very much for recommending us to you

Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indigo also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Indigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing