We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, Modern hotel”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April. The location is fantastic as it is right opposite Ocean Spa and every room has a great view. No balcony in any of the rooms from what I could see but you can always sit outside the restaurant downstairs which is a nice touch.

Room was clean and comfortable although the beds are only doubles which meant we did not really have enough room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

Service at the front desk was very friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view. Ground floor rooms have a place to sit outside, all other room seem to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LouiseKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review..we look forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    355
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
111
388
32
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papamoa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for several nights. The hotel is very centrally located and looks great outside and inside. Free parking at the back of the hotel The staff was friendly. I found the beds comfortable but my husband found them too soft.

Nice and clean hotel and such a luxury your beds get made everyday. The view was beautiful. The road outside is a bit loud at night and early in the morning. Only other minus was the smell in the bath room even though it was very clean it didn't smell clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FvdHPapamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed it.
Thank you again for your coments we look forward to your return,.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This is a modern hotel with a great location close to the amenities of this very attractive town. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed a great sea view. Service at the front desk and in the restaurant was very attentive and we enjoyed some very tasty meals.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much fro your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Clean, modern decor, spacious room and a really comfortable bed. The staff are really lovely and helpful. The toiletries cover everything you need...perfect for business travel..and leisure. I have stayed here several times and intend to again. Huge window so great view even at night with fairy lights in the Norfolk pines. The doors slam noisily to the rooms though...so can be an early wake-up when a neighbouring guest leaves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannepmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed your latest stay with us. About the doors..sorry if a guest opens the awesome big windows in their room it changes the internal airpresssure and can cause the door to slam..We have done everything we possibly can do to mitigate this but the benefit of the wide opening windows is greater than the occassional door slam..we look forward to your next stay..its another perfect day in paradise today!
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our one night stay at the Scenic Napier was blessed with great late summer sunny hot weather (10th/11th March) which really showed off the Bay, promenade and town buildings. With our supermarket (far end of town) wine we were able to relax in the chairs by the ceiling/floor window which wonderfully opened to allow the fresh air and sea sounds in.
The hotel is about 12 years old but has not yet been knocked about too much by guests so still looks new and has a fresh white contemporary style which we liked. The beds were comfy and there was a pillow menu too. Lots of hot water and the shower was a good strength.
On arrival we found the window wouldn’t open fully and we wanted some more coffee bags and within minutes one of the staff was up to sort things out. So good service.
Parking at the rear but approached from a nearby road off the parade.
Woke up early to see the sun rising over the horizon of the sea, warming the room up and setting us up nicely for our next days travel.
Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your time in Napier and at the Hotel. We are blessed with a fantastic climate and I am so glad that you were able to enjoy it with a great glass of local wine.
We look forward to your next visit.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg i. Br.
Level Contributor
227 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Te Pania hotel is well located in easy walking distance to shopping and eating.
Very nice view of the beach, too.
Good rooms, good beds and helpful service.
Quite excellent breakfast in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Te Pania and thank you for your lovely comments. We look forward to your next visit.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great location. There aren't many hotels where you can keep the window open and enjoy a peaceful sleep with the sound of waves crashing on the shore. Handy walking distance to most places in town and beach.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dbnlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Ah the advantage of being on the waterfront! The sound of the waves is wonderfully soothing and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
we look forward to seeing you again and thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hotel.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
863 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Property: Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing