We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a cosy winter break with views of the huge waves crashing on the beach from our room. Had a cold, but didn't even have to get out of the comfy bed to see the view -- feeling spoilt!! Daughter and husband happily on bikes hired from across the road and soaking in the hot pools (also just across the road). Great location. Friendly helpful service. Our top hotel in Napier.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheltonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your comments..if you liked the waves crashing when you stayed you would have been blown away this morning..crashing waves AND a glorious sunrise..cold though around 1 degree Brrrrrrrr!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would love to see you back in the Bay soon.
stay warm
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    355
    75
    26
    9
See reviews for
111
389
32
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Scenic Circle has the advantage of the best views in Napier. We asked for an end room, as there are lots of extra windows, and a view of the fountain - my nana got the end room, which she loved, and we got the next room along with a lovely view of the lit up trees and the fountain. We love the clean white bedding and toiletries, and the staff are exceptional! We didn't find the breakfast great though, and the carpet could do with replacing, as it's very worn in the halls now. Also, as I had reserved both rooms under my name, my nana was unable to use the free wifi in her room. All in all though, we would definitely stay here again, we never stay anywhere else when in Napier.

Room Tip: Ask for an end room with a view of the fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank queenp108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your fanatstic comments..I am delighted to advise that our new carpet is curently being milled and will be in Napier on the 30th July! The process took longer than expected but we are very excited about it.
We look forward to hearing your feedback when you return.
Again many thanks for your lovely comments
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Great view from window. All rooms over look the sea. We enjoyed the room here. Clean. Comfy. Nice people working here

Parking was free out the back and was in walking distance to lots and next Dr to a hogs breath!

Food on site was expensive and for more ritsy palettes than what we have. Cocktail menu was very limited and drinks were expensive. Decently stocked mini bar I raided the chocolate!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay..we aim to please!
Looking forward to your return.
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the second time this year that we have stayed here and once again we loved it. Great helpful and friendly staff, rooms are a great size, very clean and have everything you could want. Lovely comfortable bed and the view over the Bay is wonderful, it really tells you that you are in Napier.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and if you want a great view ask to be on a high enough level for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Te Pania..we look forward to your return.
kind regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed in this hotel recently for 4 nights - wow it was fab. What can i say...the staff were soooo helpful and friendly, nothing was too much - travelling with a 6mth old baby that was really welcoming.
Our room was beautiful, we were in a large suite on the 6th floor. We had an amazing long view over the sea. The room was huge,spotless clean and really warm we had a separate large bedroom, with a large very comfortable king size bed and lots of room for the carry cot (spotless clean, lots of layers for baby to be really comfy and warm), full bathroom and mini bar.
In the other room we had a large dining room, sofa's - TV area and kitchenette, with full size fridge/freezer, microwave, sink and fully stocked with everything you need. Fab selection of tea's and coffee which are replaced every day also real fresh milk in fridge - easy to do and tastes so much better - top marks :-)
The food was delicious, we had breakfast every day and it was beautiful, especially those fresh croissants yummy. Dinner was very impressive, a good mixed menu to choose from - tasted lovely and service was brilliant.
Over all we had a great stay here and the staff could not have been more helpful, i would definitely recommend this hotel for family and couples. Oh and leave your curtains open to view the sunrise (from bed if your lucky), definitely check out the hot pools across the road and the aquarium is great too, and OF COURSE Napier town is beautiful, a great history and lots to keep you busy. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newzealand492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Reviews like yours come along so rarely and they are sooo well recieved. The team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return.
It is 17 degrees today,,not bad for the middle of winter!
Take care and we await your return
warm regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Consistent comfort & service. The rooms are average size, clean, comfortable, with an outlook to Marine Parade. The hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. The restaurant menu has a good range of meals. Likewise the bar has a good selection of wines, beers and spirits. Restaurant and bar staff are very helpful, friendly and attentive to detail. Reception staff are always friendly and efficient. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJTC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and want to come back..we look forward to seeing you.
warmest regards
Kerryann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
290 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A solid box of a hotel with adequate room designs, nothing wrong here, clean and comfortable.I think every room has a water view. This daily sunrise is not to be missed and worth an early start for picture taking and memories. Superb food in the restaurant and hospitable friendly service. Good wines and beers too. Now the management and front desk staff here are the best for caring about their guests. Unfortunately I had a running accident while on vaction and ended up three days in Hastings Hospital with elbow surgery. I can not thank the good nurses enough for their care, and the good front desk staff for their caring and taking care of my wife during this ordeal. It meant we stayed here longer and ate and drank more in the hotel, all of which was delicious and worthwhile. Do not miss a wine tour with Ian Claridge. Thank you Scenic Staff for this memorable T R I P

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CS1Portland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScenicHotels, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Te Pania, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review..I am so pleased that you are recovering from your nasty accident.
You and your wife were a delightful couple and it was our pleasure looking after you.
I hope you come back soon and this time get to enjoy all that the Bay has to offer.
warmest regards from us all
Kerryann and the Te Pania Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
861 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Te Pania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Te Pania

Property: Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Address: 45 Marine Parade | Napier South, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#7 Business Hotel in Napier
#8 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Te Pania 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic Hotel Te Pania invites you to enjoy quality four-star accommodation and hospitality. From the moment you step into our spacious, light-filled lobby, you will experience our commitment to quality and customer service. The Hotel’s slender curved form echoes the shape of the bay, and guests enjoy sweeping views out over the water. Fresh and contemporary, Scenic Hotel Te Pania is just a short stroll from Napier’s main art deco architecture and little wonder why it is a firm favourite of all its valued guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Te Pania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scenic Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing