We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after sales service rescued a near miss on day 1”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in tieke rm on 2nd floor. Room was true to ofer clean and tidy with comfortable bed.

Breakfast on day 1 took a long time and as we were heading to a funeral it was worrying. But the food arrived and was nice. Day 2 breakfast was prompt and again nice.

We left our suits etc in the room. The manager rang and then sent stuff by courier Charge was about cost. No problem no fuss just solved out problem

So happy to recommend it

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservation Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Good Afternoon
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed all The County Hotel has to offer our guests.
We are pleased you have received your items left in your room upon departure.
Thank you for choosing to stay on this occasion and we very much look forward to further delighting you with the County Hotel’s welcome when you next return to Napier
Warm Regards
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

905 - 911 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife & I are seasoned, vintaged travellers & to be candid not Art Deco fans but were prepared to be converted. Napier was at her prettiest on our arrival & it got better when we checked in to find our 2 night stay scored an upgrade to the Huia suite on the top level, complete with wrap round balcony & views of the majestic skylight from the spa bath. Christopher (Owner) welcomed us on arrival, arranged a small surprise birthday cake for my wife following dinner in the character filled dining room & even walked her to our car under an umbrella on our departure, the weather having changed overnight. We especially enjoyed the space, the period furniture, soft furnishings & appointments. The County Hotel was my wife's choice as a special treat while in NZ & we were reluctant to leave. It will feature, along with photos, in our post holiday report to family & friends. Thank you CB & Staff for all you did for these grey wallabies. And yes, Napier & the County did NOT disappoint!

Room Tip: Huia suite has a fabulous king sized mattress, a large bathroom with skylight views, a large wrap ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Good Afternoon
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your point of view about our Boutique Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you appreciated our Huia Suite and you also enjoyed the character and charm The County Hotel offers our guests.
We look forward to further delighting you with the County Hotel’s welcome when you next return to New Zealand
Warm Regards to you both
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I love Napier and wanted to stay somewhere nice on our recent trip there. We booked The County Hotel, a 5 star establishment with antique furniture and luxurious rooms. Our bathroom was small and narrow with a shower base that obviously stopped being 5 star a long time ago. The shelves in the corner looked as if they had been knocked up by the local handyman.

The room had quite a bit of dust. We didn't touch the coffee making facilities as the cups had coffee stains on them which gave everything else a grotty feel. Some of the furniture was old but by no means antique and some looked like the corporate furniture one buys in bulk to furnish an office or a business medium priced hotel. The wardrobe was small and an ironing board was jammed between the wall and the wardrobe. The hair dryer was connected to a plug that looked like someone had vomited on or spilled food on it. The slippers were not wrapped in plastic, they looked pre used.

The public areas did not look as if they were vacummed often and either did our room. Whilst I do not expect a budget hotel to vacum daily I do expect a 5 star to at least vacum our room daily.

At night the hallway light leading to our room wasn't switched on and our mints were not replenished daily. On Easter Sunday we thought we were getting Easter eggs, we saw a box of Cadbury's cream eggs on the maid's trolley. Nothing, nada.

The breakfast was poor for a 5 star place, French pastries were not part of the Buffett breakfast, they were on the menu as an extra. We were told that a cooked breakfast was included but they tried to charge us for it. The restaurant was never full for breakfast, the menu looked like they had a cook and not a chef. The snacks at the bar were not inspiring. Their compendium recommended tasty snacks at the bar from 4:30. When we got there the barmaid had to ask if it was ok to order snacks. We decided not to because it wasn't the exciting meeting place we read about.

All in all, I wouldn't waste another day of my life there, even if offered a room free to make up for the shamozzle of a stay there. I say this because although we have been offered that by management their website is still a misrepresentation in my view of what they really are and they should have got it right in the first place.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AriMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Good Afternoon
We are comforted that not all our guests have your opinion of our beautiful boutique hotel.
Contrary to your comments we do value our guests feedback and of course we are disappointed to read that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Furthermore we earnestly regret that you did not feel you would like to accept our genuine offer to return to The County Hotel. Thank you for your candid response.
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Although we were only guests for one night, we fully enjoyed our spacious and well appointed room. Lots of charm throughout and a delicious restaurant on site, as well. A great choice for a stay in Napier!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservation Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

GlendaDonovan
We truly appreciate your generous compliments on the hotel, its location and amenities our boutique hotel offers.
Thank you for your preference when booking accommodation in Napier and for taking the time to post your review.
We hope your remaining trip is safe and enjoyable!
Warm regards.
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We simply loved staying in the County Hotel. The room was nicely furnished and little details such as the old-fashioned light switches added to the nostalgic atmosphere. The complimentary glass of port in the cosy hotel library was very much appreciated! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

PA
It was very rewarding for our team & management to read your review.
We are thrilled you enjoyed The County Hotel and the small things we like to offer our guests.
Your feedback is very much appreciated.
We hope your trip to New Zealand was safe with treasured memories!
Kind Regards
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed just one night and was very happy with the homely reception and attention to detail. Great location; just back from the main drag so you're in the thick of things without the traffic noise. Comfy beds, nice extras like bathrobes and free newspaper- small things but all helped us relax and enjoy the stay. Recommend as a good base for exploring Hawke's Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niki_mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Niki_Mouse
Thank you for taking the time to post your review as we do value all our guest feedback.
It was a delight to read that you enjoyed our location, services and the ambiance we have created at The County Hotel.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip to New Zealand.
Kind regards
Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Really enjoyed my stay - cute little room on corner, very warm and sunny. Air conditioned and with double glazing quiet although I did enjoy the open windows. Chris, Angela and their staff were very hospitable and added that extra family feel to my stay. Having pre-booked they were expecting me and the welcome was great. Nothing seemed a problem and they were always wanting to help wherever possible. The one thing that would improve in the rooms would be a bigger hair dryer. Comfortable bed and well appointed bathroom. Great having free internet access. Great location towaterfront, swimming complex, shops and restaurants - could walk everywhere.

Would recommend for visitors to Napier.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

JaneS
We truly appreciate your generous compliments upon the hotel, our staff and the amenities our boutique hotel offers. Your review was a pleasure to read, it sounds as though you really made the most of your trip and enjoyed your stay in the Hawke’s Bay.
We look forward to further delighting you with the County Hotel’s hospitality when you next return to Napier.
Warm Regards to you.
Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £86 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing