We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful room(big with large em suite), service and food! Great value for money! Lots of character, beautifully decorated! Access to free wifi, computer, printer, in-house library and free wine! Would definitely recommend to a friend. We loved it.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Ekane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope you will come back and enjoy our hospitality again when you next take a trip to NZ Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

828 - 834 of 1,118 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

A beautiful old girl of a hotel! Very cosy and intimate, quiet and authentic. We loved the library with the generous decanters of port and the little touches of yesteryear. Loved the complimentary glasses of bubbles on arrival too.

Beautiful suite with period furniture. Just need an electrical socket near a table to boil the jug on as the dining table and writing desk were far too beautiful to risk a spill of hot water on.

Great fire which heated the apartment quickly and a lovely big bed which was I think was of the Tempur brand so no rolling into the middle of the bed!

Staff were very welcoming and professional. I loved being shown all the way to my room, a touch you don't see in larger hotels. Great selection of drinks in the mini bar and enough chocolate to sink a battle ship for those middle of the night hung-over emergencies!

I would stay again as the location was perfect for pottering around the boutique shops and having a wine of two and not having miles to walk back with shopping. I would just stay longer than one night. You will see us again for our next wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, a bit more pricey but makes you feel all fancy and posh when swanning around in you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouPoo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality! I am pleased you took pleasure in our Huia Suite & the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel. We have some fabulous winter deals available …Come back & see us again very soon for a few relaxing days. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fabulous stay....from the receptionist to the bar lady...great room, food, wine, hospitality, location, value for money. Am booking another weekend ASAP. We have stayed in many places all around the world. TCH is up there

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMXNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We appreciate your generous compliments upon The County Hotel.
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
We have some fabulous winter deals available …Come back & see us again very soon!
Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Quite frankly there is no where else in Napier I would want to stay. The building itself oozes charm and has its own magic but the people are what really makes The County the full package _ a real credit to Chris and his team.

Room Tip: Make sure you book ahead as it would be a shame to visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livewire_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope you will come back and enjoy our hospitality again soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a jewel in Napier, located close to the beach. We stayed there for only one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is inspired by British architecture and culture. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a cozy bar, with friendly staff. Clean rooms and comfortable beds.

We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, a down to earth guy, and which is of course British. He is a perfectionist with a fancy for the “classic British” style, which is reflected on the entire hotel and staff. As a finishing touch, he drives an old Daimler(?), one or only a few remaining – a treat for the eye.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The County Hotel, your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The County Hotel in Napier is a fascinating reminder of hotels of old, more like a house than a hotel, each room opening off a winding hallway with a traditional key and individually named after a native New Zealand bird rather than just a number. The hotel has been renovated thoughtfully and offers contemporary and exemplary wine and cuisine while still offering deep leather sofas in darkened corners, photographic reminders of Napier's days of old (including the earthquake), and even a library for guests' use complete with complimentary port! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and appreciated the attention and service from the excellent staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyoftravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservation Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Wow! What a lovely review! We valued your feedback and delighted in your enjoyment of our unique hotel and all the added treasures that await our guests. I am also pleased to read that you appreciated Wine Street cuisine and the fabulous selection of wines that we can offer. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The County Hotel is an architectural gem, retaining many of its original touches. From the moment you step through the door, you feel as though you have stepped back in time - in a good way!

The staff here are the hotel's greatest asset. We dealt mainly with Jayne, who went out of her way to assist however she could. She always greeted us with a smile and hello (as did every member of staff we came across) but Jayne and the lovely lady who runs the restaurant particularly contributed to our enjoyment of the hotel.

Our room was spacious, with a large and extremely comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom. The spa bath was a very welcome place to relax after a long drive to Napier, I just wish it had been big enough to fit two comfortably.

Its location in the heart of Napier (walking distance to almost everything) can't be beaten and car parking is provided directly across the street. The on-site restaurant and bar also provides great food (far better than what I have come to expect from in-house dining) if you don't feel like leaving the hotel. The port and books available in the library are another touch to make this feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kotuku room on the second floor. It is spacious, comfortable (especially the bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review The County Hotel, we appreciate your lovely comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
829 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#11 of 46 in Napier
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £93 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing