We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The wonderful and very friendly staff made our stay unique. The room was charming, luxurious and full of character. This hotel is full of very delicate attentions (port wine at discretion at the library, foot spa in bedrooms... ) . Beautiful wine selection, fantastic bathroom with spa pool and shower, nice breakfast (thank you for accommodating me with my food allergies ! ), excellent location, car park, etc....

Really, a geat place to stay :D !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Demeter1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words!
Your review is very much appreciated by our management and team!
We are delighted that you enjoyed the little extras we offer our guests. We hope you can stay with us again very soon. Thank you again for your preference when booking accommodation in Napier. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

An amazing romantic hotel. We had a trip down to see friends and partially business. Mum travelled with us and could not stop complementing the service and the people in the hotel. A great retreat, superb food, the port in the library is an amazing touch. We have found a "local" for whenever we are in Hawkes Bay. Thanks for a great weekend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank GnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

It was a real treat & pleasure to read that you all enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality!
We appreciate your preference when booking accommodation and look forward to extending our welcome to you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The service we received from the time we arrived to the time we departed was absolutely fabulous.The room was so luxurious and we felt very comfortable there and the bed was so great that we had a massive sleep.The five course meal we had was so delicious as well as the beautiful breakfast. Our compliments to the chef and his staff and to all the other personal concerned that made our nights stay for my partners birthday so special. It is situated in such a great location in Napier city and we would recommend a stay here to anyone who would like to be thoroughly pampered by the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Get the Honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wayneanddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Wow! Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, our cuisine in Wine Street Restaurant and our service. We truly value your opinion.
Come back soon and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available during the winter months! Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our weekend stay was fabulous, The service and food was second to none.
It was a pleasure to stay in the County Hotel. Rooms luxury plus.
Location just great.
Would recommend to any one wanting to visit Napier.
We'll done to all staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Nice to be by the library first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulsueharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for passing on your thoughts about the hotel, our cuisine in Wine Street Restaurant and our service. We truly value your comments.
Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available during the winter months! Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here and got a great room as we have here in the past too, staff are friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean quite and has just a great feeling over all.
We got a room with breakfast included....wow how great that was too.
A must is to go to the library get comfy and have a port (provided!)
Looking forward to our next stay!!!
Todd

Room Tip: Just ask, but I think you' II find the rooms are all pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0dd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments.
I hope you will come back and enjoy our hospitality again very soon. Thank you again for staying with us. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

From the moment we walked into the hotel we felt like VIPs, with the personalised service of John at reception. Every aspect of our stay, from the Vice Regal suite to drinks in Churchill's Bar and our 5 course meal at Wine Street restaurant, was perfect in every respect. Our suite had all the modern conveniences (including an incredibly comfortable bed!) without compromising the integrity of this beautiful historical building. This was an engagement treat for us and we would like to thank all of the staff for making us feel so special, and assisting with extra touches in our suite. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farms4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

It was a real treat & pleasure to read that you enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality!
It was a delight to welcome you for this very special occasion that you had planned. I am pleased you enjoyed our Vice Regal Suite & the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel. Wine Street Restaurant is a wonderful place to dine for all occasions, we are delighted that you enjoyed our cuisine. Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Country Hotel for 3 nights and loved every second of it. Its location is perfect and close to the beach and in the heart of the town. The staff make you feel right at home and provide you with a great experience. The rooms are of a very high quality and the food is excellent .
We had a problem with our car on our departure buy the owner went out of his way to help us.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheehan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

We appreciate your lovely comments and your time taken to post your review on Trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I hope your remaining trip to NZ is safe and enjoyable. Warm Regards - Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
802 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 46 in Napier
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#13 of 46 in Napier
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#15 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range: £87 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing