We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Howick, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We are coming back”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The frontline staff and manager are wonderful, knowledgable and treat you like part of their family. The motel is in walking distance to boutique shops and restaurants. Our room had character and comfort all rolled into one. But the staff from the restaurant, snugg bar, reception and cleaners are a clear reflection of professionalism. The manager is an absolute hoot :-) and has a genuine passion for looking after his staff, motel and customers. Absolutely loved staying there so we will be back. Thank you for making our holiday wonderful Mere and Paul

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulMere2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Your review is so very much appreciated by our team and management! We do thank you for your lovely comments and your time taken to post your thoughts on Trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed & valued the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Napier - Warm Regards - Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    163
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
90
665
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would just like to say we both had a FANTASTIC time staying at the County Hotel. The friendliness and professionalism of all your team of people was amazing! The food in your restaurant and bar was absolutely beautiful and Carl, I think it was Carl, really knows his wine and food and has a few good stories to make an evening especially enjoyable. While it might be a little while we will certainly come back to the County Hotel.

The room was immaculately clean, really relaxing place to be in and the bed was so comfortable.

Angie and Grant

ps We both believe that the food and wine we experienced and the friendliness of the people in Napier and Hastings over the short time we visited were truly EXCEPTIONAL! Both cities and their business's should be proud of what they have achieved over the last 7 years. Sadly it has been that long since we were last there. It won't be as long next time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and have real character. Pretty much like the architecture in Napier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantIbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - our management and team, very much appreciate you taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique bar and Wine Street Restaurant, Yes! Karl is certainly very knowledgeable and welcoming. Don’t leave it so long to return, Napier has so much to offer and the spring/summer months have many more events for our guest’s to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked a night here as a treat, from a travel website that was offering specials on luxury hotels, and ended up spending 3 nights as it was so restful. Some of the windows have been retro-double glazed so outside noise was at a minimum, and we certainly heard nothing from any of the rooms next door to us, despite being told the hotel was fairly full. All the staff were so attentive, treating us like special friends, and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast in the dining room for 2 of the mornings and wished we had for the other too.. Dinner on the first night was just lovely, as was the little meal we had on the second night. Rooms were comfortable, a good size (we had 3 suitcases and plenty of hand luggage) and were scrupulously clean. Little touches like the extensive library with the free port, fruit at reception with spoons, knives and plates, the manager accompanying us to our room to ensure all was perfect, the olde worlde charm of the place, like a high class hotel from a bygone era.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath with a shower curtain - if you don't like to shower with a curtain, menti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylormaid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
It was a real treat to read that you appreciated The County Hotel and our hospitality!
I am also pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel, Wine Street Restaurant and the little treats we know our guests delight in.
Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our recent stay was as always a very pleasant and relaxing experience. All staff, front desk to room service went out of there way to ensure our stay was up to the normal high standard, one of the reasons we keep returning.

Room Tip: book early if events on
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drs1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments & honesty. Our team always look forward to the feedback given by our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an amazing stay at The County Hotel, so much so that we stayed two nights instead of one. Everyone of the staff was extremely helpful and very friendly, They could not have done more for us. The atmosphere of the hotel is best described as a classic beauty with very comfortable rooms. Our heartfelt thanks to Chris for having such an amazing team, you all made staying with you the highlight of our trip and we will definitely be back to stay in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzaweez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, we truly value your opinion. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you value the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available during the winter months! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a grand and great place to stay in Napier. Jayne at front of house was most helpful and very pleasant to deal with. The hotel's personal touches of fresh fruit at reception, port in the library and high tea, made it a point of difference in the hospitality trade in the surrounds of a grand olde world building. All staff were most welcoming, pleasant and attentive at all times. It was a pleasure to stay here and were made to feel at home and welcome, and we would love to come back at a later date. Excellent location in the heart of Napier.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Our staff were delighted to read your feedback. The hotel Library is certainly a treasure & appreciated by many of our guests! Thank you for staying with us and for your preference when booking accommodation! Come Back and stay again very soon…
…. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I do a lot traveling both in NZ and International and have stayed at numerous 5 Star Hotels, the County Hotel Napier, was recommended by a work colleague, and she was right.
It was absolutely fantastic, location perfect, the accommodation faultless, the service excellent, the restaurant menu was up there with the best.

I give full credit to the owners thank you for the experience and your personal attention to detail, and I will certainly be coming back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful words!
Your review is very much appreciated by our management and team!
We are delighted that you enjoyed so much that the hotel has to offer our guest’s.
Thank you again for your preference when booking accommodation in Napier. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
880 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#10 of 47 in Napier
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing