We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The County Hotel Napier
Nearby Hotels
Ace High Motor Inn(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albatross Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$192
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballina Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marineland Motels(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pania Lodge Motels Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Front Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,144)
Filter reviews
1,144 results
Traveller rating
883
182
47
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
182
47
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary portchurchill barwine street restaurantart decoold world charmwine centreboutique hotelnew zealandstep back in timelittle toucheswonderful hotelfood and winefirst floorhawkes baywonderful staycentre of townacross the road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,144 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were looking for somewhere to stay in Napier for a night during a week-long road trip, and wanted a place that was art deco/period correct, not some new building made to look ‘old’. The County Hotel was perfect. Not only does it have superb ‘30s décor, it’s beautifully presented, and my wife and I couldn’t fault the service from the friendly team. Our spa room was immaculately presented, especially the bathroom area. We loved the library room, and the complimentary glass of port was an unexpected bonus. Our package included a breakfast at the in-house Wine Street restaurant, which was great.
The location is ideal, one street back from Marine Parade, and an easy walk to the main shopping areas, bars and restaurant.
Our stay ay County Hotel was the highlight of our trip, and we would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank KiwiPetrolhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your very flattering comments, our team have enjoyed your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us & we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The frontline staff and manager are wonderful, knowledgable and treat you like part of their family. The motel is in walking distance to boutique shops and restaurants. Our room had character and comfort all rolled into one. But the staff from the restaurant, snugg bar, reception and cleaners are a clear reflection of professionalism. The manager is an absolute hoot :-) and has a genuine passion for looking after his staff, motel and customers. Absolutely loved staying there so we will be back. Thank you for making our holiday wonderful Mere and Paul

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulMere2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Your review is so very much appreciated by our team and management! We do thank you for your lovely comments and your time taken to post your thoughts on Trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed & valued the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Napier - Warm Regards - Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would just like to say we both had a FANTASTIC time staying at the County Hotel. The friendliness and professionalism of all your team of people was amazing! The food in your restaurant and bar was absolutely beautiful and Carl, I think it was Carl, really knows his wine and food and has a few good stories to make an evening especially enjoyable. While it might be a little while we will certainly come back to the County Hotel.

The room was immaculately clean, really relaxing place to be in and the bed was so comfortable.

Angie and Grant

ps We both believe that the food and wine we experienced and the friendliness of the people in Napier and Hastings over the short time we visited were truly EXCEPTIONAL! Both cities and their business's should be proud of what they have achieved over the last 7 years. Sadly it has been that long since we were last there. It won't be as long next time.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and have real character. Pretty much like the architecture in Napier and it's people. Totally would recommend the County Hotel as a place to stay. AND.................. will go back!!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GrantIbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review - our management and team, very much appreciate you taking the time to place your comments on Trip Advisor!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique bar and Wine Street Restaurant, Yes! Karl is certainly very knowledgeable and welcoming. Don’t leave it so long to return, Napier has so much to offer and the spring/summer months have many more events for our guest’s to enjoy. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked a night here as a treat, from a travel website that was offering specials on luxury hotels, and ended up spending 3 nights as it was so restful. Some of the windows have been retro-double glazed so outside noise was at a minimum, and we certainly heard nothing from any of the rooms next door to us, despite being told the hotel was fairly full. All the staff were so attentive, treating us like special friends, and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast in the dining room for 2 of the mornings and wished we had for the other too.. Dinner on the first night was just lovely, as was the little meal we had on the second night. Rooms were comfortable, a good size (we had 3 suitcases and plenty of hand luggage) and were scrupulously clean. Little touches like the extensive library with the free port, fruit at reception with spoons, knives and plates, the manager accompanying us to our room to ensure all was perfect, the olde worlde charm of the place, like a high class hotel from a bygone era.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bath with a shower curtain - if you don't like to shower with a curtain, mention it when booking.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank taylormaid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

It was a real treat to read that you appreciated The County Hotel and our hospitality!
I am also pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere we have created in our boutique hotel, Wine Street Restaurant and the little treats we know our guests delight in.
Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Our recent stay was as always a very pleasant and relaxing experience. All staff, front desk to room service went out of there way to ensure our stay was up to the normal high standard, one of the reasons we keep returning.

Room Tip: book early if events on
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drs1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments & honesty. Our team always look forward to the feedback given by our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews