We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Weekend in Napier”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The County Hotel Napier
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Patumahoe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Weekend in Napier”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from an outstanding weekend at The County Hotel (Aug 2014). To all those travellers wondering whatever happened to amazing hotel staff, and where they have been disappearing to,they all went to The County in Napier! Food was sublime - think we easily ate through most of the menu, hard to make room for the full cooked breakfast after a five course dinner the night before, but sacrifices have to be made in the name of research! Thoroughly recommended for a luxury weekend away ! Thanks to all the staff for making us feel so very welcome, nothing was too much trouble - will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Be aware if you ask for Twin Share - we had standard single beds, not King Single - but still very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlenell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
Our staff were delighted to read your feedback. Thank you for staying with us and for your preference when booking accommodation! Come Back and stay again very soon…
…. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    163
    41
    20
    10
See reviews for
87
658
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We dined at the County restaurant last week and I must say it was a memorable experience. Pre dinner drinks in the bar with Michelle our host was enjoyable and then Karl our restaurant manager went over and above to make our experience exceptional. His knowledge and attitude as awesome. The quality of the food topped it off and overall a fantastic experience. Thank you so much. We are locals that will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BertNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review -
We are delighted that you enjoyed our unique Bar, Churchill's and Wine Street Restaurant, Yes! Karl is certainly very knowledgeable and welcoming. We look forward to seeing you very soon. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had stayed at the county Easter 1999. It was excellent. We stayed early July 2014 and it was better. The staff are amazing and value for money is second to none Churchill's bar is very cool. We could not have been happier with our stay. please book this hotel as part of your Napier stay - you will not be disappointed - thankyou

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusty256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you! Your review on Trip Advisor is wonderful!
We are delighted that your return stay exceeded your previous expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel staff was second to none in service. The room and the hotel overall were charming and full of character. The hotel restaurant and bar had great service and wonderful food/drinks (especially the French toast for breakfast. Kris,the owner, personally came up to my husband and I to make sure our stay exceeded our expectations, which it did. Everyone was so sweet. Also the next day we left for Lake Taupo. When we arrived at the hotel there we got a call from the owner, letting me know I left my purses in the room (which are quite expensive). I couldn't believe he remembered our conversation of us telling him where we were staying and tracked us down to let us know. They arranged to have them shipped back to the USA. I couldn't believe how honest and helpful they were.


We got the bed and breakfast package.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Napier.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Whio room. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Wow! Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel, we truly value your thoughts. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. I hope your purses have reached you by now?
Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Masterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

In Napier for a business event, The County Hotel was a great find. The place has a traditional English feel to it; lot's of wood panelling, period furniture and traditional features. Staff were friendly and efficient.

My room on the first floor was a little hard to find - up the stairs, through the library and through another set of doors - but very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included in the rate package we had - and the eggs bene was perfectly acceptable.

I liked a few of the little touches including free wifi, complementary port in the library each evening and a great range of sky channels.

It's a round 150 metres to the water and 100 metres to the shopping district.

Room Tip: Rooms don't have numbers but names instead. I had 'Kiwi", a corner room on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your comments & honesty. Kiwi is certainly elegantly delightful & a lovely bright room. I am pleased you had time to enjoy our Wine Street Restaurant. I think it is always helpful to have free wifi when travelling! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just stayed at the County Hotel. Wonderful attentive staff, the only hotel we have been given a tour of and shown to our room by the receptionist when we checked in. Great rooms and the detailing was perfect for the period. Churchills bar was perfect for an after dinner drink. Bird names for rooms was a lovely touch

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markhatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about the hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and you value the unique charm we have created at The County Hotel. Come back and take advantage of the fantastic rates we have available for the next few weeks! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My Girlfriend and I had a romantic night at the County Hotel and you couldn't find a better place to have it. The old world charm and service was excellent. We had a beautiful meal in the restaurant and lovely cooked breakfast. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Napier.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trademebid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherNapier, Reservations Manager at The County Hotel Napier, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It was a real treat to read that you enjoyed The County Hotel and our hospitality!
I am delighted your special evening was as you had wished for.
Come back & see us again very soon!! Warm Regards Fiona Booth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
865 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.6 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
772 reviews
0.3 mi away
expressotel
expressotel
#14 of 47 in Napier
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The County Hotel Napier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The County Hotel Napier

Property: The County Hotel Napier
Address: 12 Browning Street | Hawkes Bay, Napier 4015, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Napier
#16 Romantic Hotel in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The County Hotel Napier 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Art Deco Supreme Award. The owners of Napier's County Hotel wished to combine the qualities and ambience of some of the finest hotels in the world. They have achieved this by incorporating fine service, fine dining and luxurious accommodation in line with 1930's Art Deco characteristics of Napier. The County Hotel is situated in the centre of Napier which is considered to be the 'Art Deco Capital of the South Pacific' and has captivated the emotions and senses of countless admirers. Originally built for the Hawke's Bay County Council in 1909, The County Hotel is one of only two significant buildings to have survived the massive 1931 earthquake. Faithfully refurbished as a boutique hotel, the County Hotel now stands as Napier's premier Hotel. The hotel is home to an extremely popular, multi award winning Wine Street Restaurant, the superb Churchill's Champagne Lounge, an intimate library, well-appointed function areas, conference facilities and eighteen luxurious guest rooms and offer a variety of accommodation packages. Come and enjoy this architectural masterpiece with its atmosphere of conventional luxury and allow yourself to be pampered by the attentive service of our devoted staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The County Hotel Napier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Napier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing