We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the twenty dollars...”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #7 of 74 things to do in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We found this place friendly,informative,great views of the sea life.It was well laid out and very reasonable in entry fee. I would go back again.

Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback, we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

716 - 720 of 1,055 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

A great day out for family. Well presented, clean, good interaction, plenty to see for all ages. The little Penguins were fascinating & the moving walkway in the tunnel is easy to get on & off. New displays being set up. Nice Cafe

Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for visiting and commenting. Our new displays are now open so we hope you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Well set out and easy access to all exhibits. Our three year old loved seeing the Little Penguins being fed and the enthusiastic commentary. They have a great season pass for children that allows them to visit regularly with any adult. A great idea if you live locally.
The moving pathway around the large shark aquarium is a good way to move people along and provide differing vantage points.
The staff were helpful and friendly and offered to store a little bike behind their counter while we visited.
Well worth a visit.

1  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

As you mention, an annual pass is a fantastic way to visit more often for all ages at a great rate. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great aquarium, well laid out and super for kids, activities laid on.
Quite compact and easy to access. Nice little cafe and shop.

Thank veronamore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

We are glad you had a great time here with us. Thank you for letting us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The aquarium is not very large and has some displays that are definitely not aquarium related. We did the penguin experience which was fantastic and worth every cent to be able to walk among these beautiful little fairy penguins and feed them was a definite high for us all.

Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

While we have some non-aquatic animals such as the Kiwi and Tuatara, these give our visitors something unexpected and a chance to also see some iconic New Zealand animals. Thank you for sharing your Penguin Encounter experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing