We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but Outstanding”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.46*
and up
Little Penguin Encounter
Ranked #19 of 75 things to do in Napier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the national Aquarium, Marine Parade, Napier.Te Whare Tangaroa O Aotearoa New Zealand's largest display of aquatic life and unique New Zealand wildlife, including sharks, stingrays, living coral, kiwi, tuatara and a huge range of fish species. A fun and educational place to visit for all the family. Located in Napier, the National Aquarium is one of the premier Hawke's Bay Tourist Attractions. Opening Hours: Daily from 9.00am - 5.00pm, last entry 4:30pm, closed Christmas Day
Reviewed 26 August 2014

One of the best aquariums we went to. They had piranhas! And, they had a great Kiwi display, with two friendly and active Kiwis. They had a great penguin display, with feeding at 1pm, and there are also fish/shark feedings by a diver after 2pm. The sharks aren't as big as the ones you see in Australian aquariums, but still fun. Highlights - Piranhas and Kiwis! Make sure you look through the Napier tourist guide books - they contain 10% discount vouchers for the aquarium.

1  Thank Dayeian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"penguin feeding"
in 69 reviews
"marine life"
in 45 reviews
"blue penguins"
in 38 reviews
"birthday party"
in 28 reviews
"feeding times"
in 28 reviews
"kelly tarltons"
in 21 reviews
"kiwi enclosure"
in 19 reviews
"swim with the sharks"
in 18 reviews
"big tank"
in 17 reviews
"moving walkway"
in 16 reviews
"sea creatures"
in 15 reviews
"rainy day"
in 44 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 14 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 47 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 35 reviews
"entry fee"
in 13 reviews
"new zealand"
in 61 reviews
Filter

817 - 821 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our 2nd visit to aquarium, which I think says enough how we liked it.

Lots of fish, lots of info, a beautiful walk through tunnel, penguins and a kiwi house. Fun for kids and adults. Good valua for money.

However, it can get crowded when there are school classes visiting.

Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Always great to hear from repeat visitors. Thank you for your positive feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Good value for money but do not expect too much from this aquarium ... Kelly tartons is much better .. Fish feeding is good .. Saw the penguins they were very small ... Taken only 45 mins to finish the whole tour

Thank FoodTravelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The exhibits are looking a bit dated however it is possible to see that they are being updated. We arrived 45 minutes before closing and were not sure if we would see everything in that space of time. The staff at the entry very kindly wrote on our entry ticket allowing us to return the next day to finish seeing everything as they said it would take at least an hour to have a proper look around. This enabled us to see the penguins being fed (they are really cute and hoot to watch) and the diver had feed the fish in the large aquirium. Going at the end of the day when we did mean't as adults we got to wander around without many other people or little kids there and so had a very peaceful look around. The sea turtle is astounding although I am sure he/she would like a bigger place to swim. Altogether a good activity to do.

Thank Pirongia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Thank you for the feedback. We do have a new octopus exhibit now open and another new exciting exhibit on the way! Keep a lookout for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had an enjoyable couple of hours with friends learning more about our wonderful sea life and also got to see a Kiwi which was very exciting.

Thank KathrynChristensen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NationalAquariumHB, Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing