We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bella Tuscany Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
ASURE Colonial Lodge Motel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
expressotel(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Deco Masonic Hotel(Napier)
US$132
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nautilus(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoreline Motel Napier(Napier)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
69
24
12
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
24
12
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate patiohelpful with directionssuited our needsheat pumpfew minutes drivethe room was nicetwo nightsseparate bedroomtown centremain roomplace to staysmall kitchenbusy roadcomfortable stayone night stayfriendly hostsgood size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We spent two nights here this week, in a small unit (12) next to office. Not a lot of natural light in the room and although small, there was enough room as were out all day. Room was nice and tidy and nice décor. Good heat pump for the colder evenings. As other reviewers have said it is a drive to town and no shops very close but as we had our own car it wasn't a problem. What we found a bit odd was, that the owners had closed office by 6pm and had left the premises on both nights, just leaving a note stuck on the door for guests who were yet to arrive. And an emergency no. And that they would be back 7.30am. It was a bit of a problem the first night as we went to go out to dinner and discovered they hadn't given us a room key, so we couldn't lock up, When rung the owners son put us on to his mother who said she'd come back and put key under mat. Not very good when most moteliers are on site for any help that is needed. Also we were supposed to get continental breakfast both mornings as she had offered it as part of our stay. We got it one morning but not the next. As we had gone out to dinner again 2nd night at about 6.15 and office was closed as per previous night, we thought they would bring breakfast in the morning. No the night before as previous evening, so didn't contact them. Breakfast did not arrive, but we didn't bother to let them know. A little disappointing tho. And breakfast was ok 2 pieces of toast each and cereal (mine was stale) even tho I was from new packet. Milk was supplied in a coffee cup that was a bit messy to pour into bowls or coffee cups. And although unit was clean and tidy and looked good, it was disturbing to find a large cockroach crawling across the table not long before we left. So not sure about this motel, I think the moteliers need to make a few changes re being on site and making sure they do what they have said they will. As we left another lady checking out let the owners son that she had had to put up with smoke alarm making noises all night and she had taken out battery to stop it. Just little things that make a stay not the best and not having people on site to remedy these things.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnno540, Manager at Bella Tuscany Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We do value all comments regarding Bella Tuscany Motel. Not sure we understand the non natural light in unit 12 as this has not only a large glass ranch slider, alongside another opening window the length of the unit, and a further two windows on the opposite side. More than a lot of Motel units would have. Regarding the temporary absence of the managers ( visiting a very sick relative in Hospital) we can only assume the notice was read incorrectly as it stated return at 7.30pm (not am) It was necessary to have the property unattended for a couple of hours, at short notice and we did leave an emergency number.
We apologise for missing a continental breakfast the following morning - our mistake.
We do thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The hotel owners were so rude. As tourist, spent time with many hotels many countries, this is the worst hotel I've ever stay. As already paid fee by internet when they saw us as Asia people to check in they asked for additional cash deposit and also asking for credit card to hold some amount for any damage if possible. When I ask why need to deposit cash and withhold credit line together they said it is hotel policy however when I walked back to their counter again the new white customer check in with out and deposit. Why Asia customer who already paid for the hotel need to pay them cash deposit and also credit card for hold amount credit line. If I didnot already paid the hotel I will not diffinitely stay in this hotel. They look down at us, in the morning they return us with full amount without say anything.
The location is far away from everything, very tiny garden which cannot use for anything. The room was look clean but when I look under the bed I found the empty bottle of beer.
It is small hotel The owner may not employ anyone to take care they look like a rich people so always look down other people. If you don't beleive then try yourself and god bless you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOMSH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnno540, Manager at Bella Tuscany Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

We enjoy guests from all countries & nationalities. However, we were pre warned from the previous Motel these guests stayed in, where they tried to get 9 adults into two units booked for only 6 guests maximum. They also left the previous property in a disgusting state, so we needed to take a cash deposit in case this happened to us. They tried to again get 9 adults (hiding the extra three adults in a van down the road) and pay for 6 only. We refused to accept the extra guests and advised them to book elsewhere ( as we were unable to accommodate due to being full). They were certainly not happy that we challenged the numbers, which we believe we had every right to do. These guests have done the same thing throughout their NZ trip. When challenged they have turned to trip advisor to pull the Motel down when in fact they are clearly in the wrong. We appreciate this right of reply to show our side of the writeup.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I want to be careful here because I know the owners were new when we visited and I would like to believe they have by now made improvements. The units themselves are on the small size, but as elsewhere in New Zealand very clean. The owners provided all the necessary traveller information on Napier and will make recommendations for restaurants. The bed was comfy and the bathroom a good size (although more shelves would be helpful). The kitchen was very small and you had to prepare things on the corner table. We asked to use the barbeque (which had been advertised) and found they had none in working order. They did provided us access to another unit to cook our meal, but of course we were prepared to grill meat, not to fry it, and the distance to the grocery made getting additional supplies a bit difficult. The motel is a long way from the town, although as long as you have a vehicle it's very direct. Accessing the motel however can be tricky depending on the direction of your approach; we had to drive past the motel, turn into a subdivision and loop through it back to the motel. Thank goodness for GPS.

Room Tip: Suggest you check on your unit before accepting it; you may want to choose another for size or a better kitchen.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnAnn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnno540, Manager at Bella Tuscany Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Many thanks for your comments, the Bar B Que is now fully operational, thank you for your time in writing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The room we were allocated was small and without much natural light. There are better rooms available than the one we were allocated. The motel is located some way from the city centre and we found no local eateries. The cooking facilities were limited basically just a microwave. There was not even a sink. Sadly when we came to use the microwave ours did not work. We went to reception only to find it closed despite it being during the declared opening ours. A call to the emergency number brought help and another microwave but the comment that ours had been working previously did not ring true. Maybe we were unlucky - maybe!

Room Tip: Avoid 11 or 12.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnno540, Manager at Bella Tuscany Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your review - constructive comment is always helpful. I am pleased you were happy with our response in obtaining another microwave for you, the unit purchased was our lead in studio price and yes, it is small compared to our one bedroom units or our superior studios for very little extra cost..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This motor lodge is in a quiet neighborhood, and is very clean with the comforts of home, like a DVD player, spacious washroom, and fully-equipped kitchenette.

Stay at this hotel because it's great value for your money IF you're renting a car while in New Zealand.

If, like us, you're travelling by coach or rail and don't have a rental car, I wouldn't recommend this motel. It's a seven minute drive into town (one way) and $16NZ cab ride. So unless you want to budget $32 each time you go into and out of the main town, choose another motel if you don't have a rental car. There's nothing walking distance from this motel, not even places to eat, so you will have no choice but to go into Napier while you're there. Again, not a bad thing if you have a rental car and are cooking your own meals the odd time. I just wish we were told before we stayed here because we were not prepared with our transportation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisaPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnno540, Manager at Bella Tuscany Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review, yes we do realise that Bella Tuscany is 3 Kilometres from the central city but all our display, marketing and advertising advises this fact.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your NZ holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews