We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fundraising Dinner”

Valley d'Vine Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 195 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fundraising Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I organised a fundraising dinner for Zero Tolerance Kickboxing Club at Valley D'Vine, we had a three course meal with options to suit everyone and Greg donated a generous amount of money back to our club. The restaurant was warm and had a great atmosphere, even on a cold winter night. There was a good range of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, with the local Zeelandt beer on tap being a favourite, along with the Linden Estate pinot gris, which is amazing! The service was great and staff were friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding, All the meals were presented well, full of flavour and cooked to perfection. This was the easiest fundraiser I have organised, and everyone loved their meals. If anyone is looking at doing a fundraiser I would thoroughly recommend that they get in touch with Greg to talk through some options. We will definitely be planning another fundraising dinner at Valley D'Vine in the near future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whaiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    10
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing atmosphere lookout and meal!!!! Couldn't have wished for more. The staff were so friendly and attentive to our every wish. Well done to you all. As for the meal both the venison salad and lamb rump for entree and mains were perfectly cooked and tender beyond belief and well the dessert death by chocolate. The chocolate cake was so dense but tasted incredibly light and delicious. The sauce, berries and ice cream complemented the whole dish. As first timers we will definitely be going back for business meetings, family gatherings and date nights!!!! Well done to the whole Valley d Vine team!!!! Keep the great work up

Helpful?
3 Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Another great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had yet another excellent dining experience here! Food is great - across our table we had : shrimp cocktail (love the chargrilled prawn on top and the homemade sauce!) ; absolutely delish swordfish on seafood risotto ; melt in the mouth lamb shanks ; pork belly ; lamb rump - not much conversation once mains were served as we were too busy enjoying our food! Desserts we had were crème brulee and death by chocolate - again no complaints, only silence! Coffee was good, served with baby chocolate fish - a nice touch! Waitress was happy to bring me a baby chocolate fish with my wine seeing as I didn't have coffee - very good service!
Good wine list - love that 2010 Chardonnay as recommended by the Chef!
Lovely clean bathrooms, pleasant atmosphere in the restaurant. Love that the tables aren't placed 'on top of each other' - room to move and have conversation.
Can't speak highly enough about this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank expatkiwiwairoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal and bang for your buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Dinned with friends on a Friday Night Locals special night, Fab meal, amazing service and the lovely feel to the restaurant. This will definately be a place to linger for hours come summer with its wonderful surroundings (amongst the vines in the lovely Esk Valley) Looking forward to coming again, would and will recommend to more friends and local. Well done team you are winner. Thanks Andrea

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank doris07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Amazing Food, Amazing Waiter, Amazing price.. Everything was absolutely perfect.
Host was very friendly and chatted away to us afterwards. Best 3 corse dinner ive had in a long time. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krissystar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valley d'Vine Restaurant also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Eskdale, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Valley d'Vine Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing