We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday roast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puketapu Hotel

Puketapu Hotel
Ranked #57 of 194 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, New Zealand, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Foster, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a wonderful hotel where you can sit inside, or at the bar or in a lovely outdoor area. Everyone is here on a Sunday - groups of friends on cycles (motor and pedal), families, birthday celebrations. Service is terrific and so is the roast pork with crackling.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Virginia3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Carry a large stick....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

...to keep others away from your plate.

We stopped in here for lunch after a bike ride around the area. The outside is not impressive, but the patio is a nice spot for a beer or lunch. There is plenty of shade, a fish pond and a grape arbor which was loaded with grapes when we were there.

The pub has eight different beers on tap, one to fit every taste. We opted for the pilsner which was perfect on a warm day, not too heavy and cold.

The menu is extensive and there are also several daily specials. Since there was four of us we had the opportunity to try several different dishes. We tried the seafood sandwich, which is served open faced with potato wedges. The seafood portion was generous and had great flavor ($16 NZ).

Two of us ordered the mussels which were prepared with a garlic cream sauce and served with garlic bread ($14 NZ). There were at least 15 mussels and two good sized pieces of garlic bread. The broth was creamy with just the right amount of sweetness. The mussels were not chewy but cooked to tenderness.

One of us ordered the trio of sliders($17 NZ). They were made of venison, pork belly, and Italian meatballs with parmesan and marinara sauce. We also ordered a large portion of spicy wedges ($13 NZ). The pork was barbequed and was the least favored and flavored of the three. It was slightly dry and didn’t have as much bbq flavor as our taster thought it should. The Italian Meatball was quite good and was like eating a well prepared meatball sandwich. The venison was very lean and was seasoned with sauteed onions and spices. Although all of the sliders were delicious and well prepared, this one was selected at the “winner”.

The spicy wedges were hot and crispy. They were well seasoned and were served with spicy sweet chili sauce and sour cream. One order along with the wedges that came with the seafood sandwich were plenty to share among four people.

The food took awhile to cook (we were able to have two beers while waiting) but that is probably because it is carefully prepared to order. The server is very knowledgeable and will help you choose from a large number of menu items and specials.

This was a surprisingly good lunch in an unlikely spot. We would happily eat here every week if we lived in Hawkes Bay. Our friends, a local couple, plan to come back and try every item on the menu!

If you get a chance, walk up the hill and take a look at the small old cemetery. There are some very old headstones and it is beautiful spot with gardens.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An affordable and a very good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We were at the Puketapu Hotel to celebrate a 13 year olds birthday. The waiting staff were humorous and very obliging. They offered a huge menu including a good variety for the young'uns. Great atmosphere with food to match. Prompt service capped off a very enjoyable evening.
PS I had the surf and turf and would highly recommend it!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nickademus64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem of Incredible Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Our first visit to Puketapu Hotel was prompted by Yvonne Lorke's program Thirsty Work on Friday. I am so glad we went we both had the day special being Pork Belly and the Fish absolutely incredible flavour in both dishes. A nice gentleman greeted us and promptly served us our drinks. Not a long wait for our mains. The only disappointment was we could not fit in a dessert as the dessert menu looked inviting as well. Be hungry when you visit here I can assure you that you willn't be on leaving.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
173 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good at what it does”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Puketapu Hotel does exactly what it should - provides good, reasonably priced food to a cross section of people who all seem very happy with what they get. We stopped in after walking the river bank path from Taradale and felt so virtuous with the 9+ km hike that all menu items were fair game. As it turned out the good old standbys were so good that the more exotic offerings seemed redundant. Does anyone really order the Alpaca burger? We had fish and chips (big and good), open chicken sandwich (very good) and all day breakfast (outstanding). A couple of glasses of cider (for the raging thirst brought on by all that exercise) rounded out the meal nicely.

Our fellow guests included lots of bicyclists who had also come via the river side path, many motorcyclists pausing for a drink in the middle of their Saturday run, families with young kids and a few other walkers. The place welcomed them all and everyone seemed relaxed and happy. There is a separate dining room but most people chose the bar which has inside tables and more tables in a sort of indoor/outdoor tented area.

The Puketapu Hotel is a good destination for honest food at reasonable prices and relaxed company that covers a cross section of the community. Don't go expecting a fancy Michelin starred experience. Who needs that when you can get a perfect Saturday afternoon venue that works so much better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Puketapu Hotel also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Puketapu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing