We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Membership or Visitor”
Review of Boat Ramp Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

Boat Ramp Restaurant and Bar
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Boat Ramp Restaurant & Bar - under the Palms on the Quay. A place with one of the best scenic views over the Bay. Beautiful sunsets and delicious food, it can't get any better then that. We have a cozy atmosphere right next to one of the most extensive mounted fish collections situated at the Hawkes Bay Sports Fishing Club. Our friendly team will look after you and make sure that you have a wonderful dining experience. We do functions any size and we are able to accomodate catering for up to 100+ people. Come and talk to us and we tailor-make it to your budget. We look forward to your visit.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Membership or Visitor”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The perfect place to hang out while fishing or celebrate the big catches
Family friendly, Good prices & views of both the Marina & beaches

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaqi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not to sure we were a priority.....”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We organised a large booking of thirty people for a birthday function. The service staff were pleasent enough and when ever we needed a drink, no problem.
However, when it came to our food, we'll as the resurant cleared out for the evening, we clearly were not a priority infact the mains took two hous to arrive and the resturant missed out on additional orders for desert as by then it was quite late in the evening.
The atmosphere was fine, just a big let down on what mattered most.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We wandwered in on a busy Saturday evening and the ever helpful staff cheerfully found us a table. The food and service were first class, and we returned the next night and were not disappointed. Very reasonably priced too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kjd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic find”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

With fantastic views closest to the ocean that you will get in Napier, With a thriving atmosphere and fantastic staff to cater to your every need. Ali who manages the restaurant is a star. Child friendly and great indoor and outdoor seating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DanaH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was good...pity the waiters forgot all about us”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Started off well (other than the tables not being cleared outside) nice evening, so we sat outside, busy with fishing club stuff - but related to the bar not restaurant (which was fine as we had being prewarned whilst booking) and the food was good - (well cooked steak), but the waiting staff (there were 4) forgot about us as soon as the mains were served and the restaurant wasn't busy! Ordered a beer with dinner and it never arrived. The table was not cleared after and we weren't even offer drink top ups, dessert or coffees...all of which you make money off. So, sorry, won't be back...cause you either delivery the goods or there are plenty of competition out there who will!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_smythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boat Ramp Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing