We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU HAVE TO SEE THE SINGING POSSUMS”
Review of Opossum World

Opossum World
Ranked #5 of 17 Shopping in Napier
Attraction details
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“YOU HAVE TO SEE THE SINGING POSSUMS”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Found this little place 4 years ago and just couldn't wait to get back to Napier so I could take a friend to see the Singing Possums, oh and the fabulous Possum products available. Took a look at the Possum Museum again too. Well worth a look and its only a little walk from the new museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MinxyMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    2
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raglan, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Weird and wonderful”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

On the street it looks like an ordinary gift shop selling goods made from possum fur and wool. But inside there's so much more to explore.

Lurking in the back of Opossum World is series of displays that attempt to explain why the possum is considered a pest in New Zealand, and the damage it does to native flora and fauna.

Being a marsupial, the possum is an interesting animal anyway, but the ageing taxidermy displays add a bit of entertainment to the experience.

Napier is well known for its art deco buildings, sunny weather and vineyards, but there's nothing else like Opossum World. I highly recommend this for an unusual and memorable experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robyn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Free, funny and educational..

Our 2 year old loved it so much we went around twice. We learnt so much and had a good laugh.

Definitely recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Somewhere between a 1-star and 5-star experience”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

How exactly do you rate Opossum World? I loved this place and was really glad I went there, but hey, I like silly places. (It's not all silly though, my wife got a great pair of gloves and a lovely scarf that she wore throughout our entire NZ trip there.)

Best I can say, if you are the type of person who would be likely to say "sure, I've been to the Grand Canyon and to the Eiffel Tower, but how can they possibly compare to visiting ... OH-possum WORLD!!!" then you should definitely swing by for a 5-star experience. I've already said this to my wife several times and I've laughed hysterically every time. She doesn't seem to get the joke though, unless rolling your eyes counts. If you thought what I just wrote was profoundly stupid, then skip this visit unless you need gloves, a scarf, or a sweater.

Happily, it's a quick visit no matter what (since it's small), unless your wife takes a long time sorting through gloves and scarves. Then it might take a while. You can entertain yourself by pressing the button to make the OH-possums sing over and over.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“possum band”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If your into taxidermy- rush here. Possums as road kill, in a band- you get the idea.
Oddly appealing with lots of things to stroke.
Strong stomached kids will love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Opossum World also viewed

 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Opossum World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing