We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a good pick”
Review of Bluewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluewater Hotel
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Union Bridge, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This was a good pick”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Picked the place from the AA book, and called ahead to check room rates. Nice large room on first floor, over looking marina. The front desk was friendly. The mattress was getting a little old but was still OK to sleep on, Nice spa bath tub. Walking distance to restaurants around the inner harbor. Nice small kitchen area. Room had air conditioning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We are delighted with your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    45
    29
    27
    14
See reviews for
33
56
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed Saturday & Sunday night in a 2 bedroom - while the bar below was very noisy and the ugly fights out on the street afterwards at 3am were not what we expects, the view are pleasant the rooms clean and tidy.

The bad unpleasant mentions would be the hotel booklet advising of all the usually stuff, but having penalty fines for doing things outside of what the management would expect i.e calling the after hours number for non emergencies - this would cost you $50. While this might sound ok - I called reception for a internet code... The abrupt man at the end of the phone promptly told me I should have called the after hours number (not realizing that I have called reception after hrs as it was only 815pm!). There were a handful of things you would be fined for doing wrong... It has a feeling that they really don't want you here and you are staying with your landlord or something ...

Anyway, the kitchen is sparse in terms on equipment - giant wholes in the kitchen show where equipment would normally be, like an oven and maybe a dishwasher ... Currently there is big empty space in the joinery.

But at the end of the day, the views are good.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Col E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not have control over people leaving the bars at 3am and having fights. Obviously if we did we would not allow that kind of behaviour.

You seem to have mis read the compendium. We do not fine people for calling the after hours number. If the after hours number is called BECAUSE of you there will be a fine for the disturbance to the other guests.

We are confused about the abrupt man as we only have female receptionists - none of which have a manly voice.

We are lucky to be in a wonderful location with amazing views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Otorohanga
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The BlueWater Hotel is clean tidy and good value.
The Hotel restaurant, Salt & Pepper club make it a very convenient stay as you can enjoy the view, meal and the atmosphere and be close to your accomodation. Nice friendly efficient staff and VERY good meals. The cocktails are worth a try too. I had a ginger lime run Majito - it was divine with shaved ice, fresh ginger, lime and we both really enjoyed our Deco Prawn entree that is not to be missed if you are a seafood fan, the freshness and presentation is great. The room we had was bordering on dated although the price I think is reflected in this. It was overall good value over all and the staff were really helpful, friendly and good at their jobs. Thanks Blue Water. :-)

Room Tip: Room 19 is central and seemed a good choice from my point of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased you you enjoyed your stay and your meal. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Really annoyed we were charged 100 dollars for so called stains on a towel which I know for a fact washes out . Charging someone 100 for a few towels is ridiculous especially for a 3 star hotel who would spend a small amount of money on items such as towels . The receptionist was friendly and kind but when I rang to ask why my credit card had been charged without my permission or without them letting me know a man answered and was incredibly rude . If they had explained the situation clearly I would have understood but no they had to be completely unprofessional ! Really annoyed and will not ever stay there again !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nztravelar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are currently disputing this review as we do not believe this is from our Property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I had booked three nights here while I business in the area. The internet was near impossible to connect to and made sending and receiving emails a lengthy and frustrating chore. The Thursday night I was there the restaurant in the complex had some sort of function, there were children running up and down the stairs squealing and slamming doors from 7-9.30 p.m which no one appeared to do anything about. I do not intend to stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Our apologies as we did have a short period of internet troubles when we were changing providers. This was rectified as soon as possible by us and are pleased to report we have not had any more issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here in a family unit. It was tidy, but rather sparsely equipped ( just a microwave ). Unfortunately, we were in the last room next to the fish works, which hummed both from the fish being processed and from the generators!!! We had to keep the door and front windows closed to avoid the noise and smells, but were still woken at 6 am by the workers turning up and the fork lift trucks operating.
There is a large mobile phone mast outside the window, which did nothing for the views of the harbour. It is a handy location, but would not stay here again as not the cleanest place I have stayed or the most pleasant to sleep in...too much noise. Don't bring the kids here if you want them to get a good sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the fish works and bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corn468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your review. The fish factory next door have had many warnings from our hotel about the fish odour that sometimes becomes extremely strong and after this review we advised them of your complaint. Our rooms are cleaned to a high standard which we pride ourselves on. We have frying pans available for guests that are not staying in full cooking units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikikamoocow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Well that's the fish and chip shop round the corner and the takeaway across the road from it covered, pity I can't say the same for the Bluewater, first impressions were OK, reception was quick and friendly, get to the apartment, no ice in the freezer, no coffee plunger, no radio, no cd/dvd player, check out the view which is fine if you like yacht masts and rusty fishing boats. Hit the sports bar and get stung $13 for a OJ and a cider, maybe I need to get out more ?. Check out the restaurant, my partner orders fish of the day which is crumbed fish which arrived served on a bed of saffron noodles ? and gets the roof of her mouth burnt as the fish is about the same temperature as the surface of the sun !, now how the hell you can get crumbed fish so hot without burning it and without a microwave oven being involved is beyond me. Time to check out and I'm charged $20 more than my partner had been quoted, not impressed !.
Overall there are far better and cheaper places to stay and within walking distance of Napier as the Bluewater is a 4 or 5 km walk to the CBD, it's handy to the bars and clubs around the Iron Pot which are great if you want to watch the local hoons roar past in their blinged up Hondas and Subarus while you sit next to a smelly working fish dock and watch noisy cranes unload the catch. The 'free' wi-fi is for one hour a day and I wouldn't travel by car in peak season because you won't be able to find a park as the hotels limo's, buses and cars seem to take up the bulk of the available spaces

Room Tip: West end is next to the fish processing plant, the other end is the sports bar, take your pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogsbreath08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewaterH, Manager at Bluewater Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We do not advertise that we have a coffee plunger, radio or Cd/dvd player available so we apologise for the confusion there. Housekeeping have been spoken to and reminded to fill up the ice trays in the rooms. This is the only complaint we have seen in regards to the rusty fishing boats, most people love the views over the marina. The Sports Bar and Restaurant are separate from the Hotel so we do not have any influence on the pricing of their products. Most people who stay here appreciate being away from town and enjoying everything Ahuriri has to offer. Parking is not an issue at the Hotel as the Tour and Charter bus, Stretch Hummer and Limousine have their own car parks. We do hope you come back and give Ahuriri and the Bluewater Hotel a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.6 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
East Pier Hotel
East Pier Hotel
#18 of 47 in Napier
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 47 in Napier
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Motor Lodge
Anchorage Motor Lodge
#33 of 47 in Napier
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marineland Motels
Marineland Motels
#26 of 47 in Napier
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Hotel

Property: Bluewater Hotel
Address: 10 West Quay, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Napier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a luxury hotel situated in the popular, exciting inner harbour area, the Bluewater Hotel provides a first-class stay in Napier with dazzling views of the marina,located in the rejuvenated Ahuriri quarter, is the perfect place to stay in Hawke’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bluewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing